We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a gem! The room was just perfect.... a living area, a full kitchen (stocked with everything needed), an archway leading to a lovely and romantic sleeping area, and a bathroom. The grounds are perfectly kept, with flowers and seating areas by each room. It is a 1/2 block from the beach. There are bicycles for use by the guests as well as locks, beach towels, a few boogie boards and a few other misc items. The welcome breakfast basket was delicious (they were cooking the yummy banana nut bread as we walked in the office, and it smelled as good as it tasted). Overall, we had a delightful stay!

Room Tip: I can't speak for all the rooms. Ours was number 5 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiligirlz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 901 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Harbor House Inn is the 4th or so downtown SB property we've tried. If you are looking in this area, be aware that city regulations have limited development. Most properties are renovated motor inn-style, and many have been charmingly renovated. If you are looking for a chain hotel experience, this area is not for you. The owner checks every room during cleaning and before check-in and personal details abound: plenty of thick towels, nice hangers, a DVD library, bikes/boogie boards/beach towels provided, and a generous welcome breakfast basket with banana bread baked on-site. The room and bath were spotless and fixtures updated. We had a down duvet and lots of pillows with soft linens. The deluxe queen had a separate sitting area with a chair-and-half pull-out and a small kitchen. Free wi-fit and parking. We were a 6 minute walk from the beach and marina and few minutes more walk to Ledbetter Beach and East Beach and the pier. It was super quiet at night and we had a cool breeze from the lovely patio in front and a private patio off the bedroom. There is not pool (not an issue for us given we have one to mess with at home and the ocean was a few minutes away). There is parking onsite avoiding the tight neighborhood parking situation typical to a residenital beach community. We biked every day to State Street to restaurants and shops. This is a lovely property and a terrific value in what is typically a bit of a pricy hotel market and most importantly, the owner is on-site all the time and shows she cares.

Room Tip: 3, 5 and 7 are queen studios. 2A is a king suite with a HUGE fancy bathroom and shares a brick patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aztraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first B&B in the USA after many B&B's into the UK It was a different experience here, more like a motel in Australia but with cute B&B style rooms. It was a bit cluttered with bric a brac but we were surprised by the lovely welcome basket of food and drinks which replaced breakfast and the comfort of the bed. The location was great being near the sea and it was an easy walk into town where we just happened upon a festival of music and food. A very happy stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent one night there and we really had a lovely stay.
+We had a small one bedroom with a little garden.
+The food basket that they give you when you arrive is perfect for your breakfast - especially the banana bread!
+There are nice outdoor spaces.
+The location is pretty central.
+Wifi was quick too + The staff was really nice.
+You can also borrow one of their bikes or dvd for free!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic get-away in May 2013. This little place did not disappoint! The room was so adorable and had all the right touches. The welcome basket with fresh baked bread was above and beyond. We had the best nights sleep, the beds and pillow were so comfortable. We only stayed 3 nights, so we did not have time to use the bikes, etc... that they offer, but there is no doubt that we will stay here again. I will recommend this place to anyone I know going to Santa Barbara. The location is also quite nice, it was very quiet and a close walk to State Street. The harbor is right there, which is so nice to walk while the sun is setting and a quick jog in the morning. Brophy Brothers restaurant is also walking distance. The staff is also very friendly and accommodating. This place is a winner.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. We stayed in a very cozy room the first 2 nights and then a larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrigypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We reserved a room for my birthday and were upgraded to the King Suite. It was amazing! The suite was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom which featured a large jetted tub surrounded by tile. The suite had a comfortable sitting area and a dining table with four chairs and was decorated beautifully.
The suite featured a kitchenette with its own sink, microwave and small refrigerator. I understand that some units have full kitchens, but I wouldn't want to trade my suite for a kitchen!
There was also a small patio area with a small table and two chairs in our "backyard".
Harbor House offers free use of a variety of bikes and beach items for guests' enjoyment.
An added bonus was the breakfast basket that was ready for us upon arrival. It featured homemade banana bread, biscotti, nuts, fresh fruits and juice.
Harbor House is located a couple blocks from the beach. The parking spaces are on the small side, but we were lucky because the Inn wasn't filled the night we stayed there.
The woman who checked us in was very friendly, as was the owner/manager we met in the morning. They both showed a lot of pride in this establishment!
We were very happy with our stay and plan to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and I have to say it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The apartment is beautifully decorated in perfect condition and cleaned every day. The location is fantastic and the staff extremely helpful and to top it off its great value. We are delighted to have spent our last week of honeymoon here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
584 reviews
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $195 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing