We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I loved my stay here. The staff made me feel very at home and I stayed in a lovely one bedroom mini-aparment. In the corner, maybe no 7, with a little kitchen-ette and a separate lounge. none of the rooms were huge, but the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Having the bikes available is a huge plus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippitydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place to stay if you want to be close to the beach and restaurants. You feel like home here. Homemade sweet bread, fruits and juice in the welcoming basket. Very friendly staff. You get beach chairs, DVD:s and bikes (all included). It's a bit pricy place to stay but worth of every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelinaKeiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is wonderful-one block from the beach. The welcome basket for breakfast was very abundant and lovely choices.

We were amazed at how well appointed the room was--someone has excellent taste.
Had a bit of noise from the room next door so not completely soundproof, but wasn't a big issue. The grounds are also well done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanmckibben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in room #6. That room has no kitchenette which makes it spacier. You are in walking distance to the city center, the wharf and the beach. Everything clean and nice. We would definitely come back. Only drawback: the walls are quite thin but this seems to be kind of common in California.

Room Tip: room 6 is the largest but misses a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this place! I had a meeting in Santa Barbara and was looking for a place that was conveniently located and well priced. Harbor House popped up and I booked it. Upon checking in I was absolutely enchanted. The property is like a vintage motor court. Every room has been renovated and decorated with amazing detail. Every guest receives a welcome basket which had a loaf of homemade banana bread, juices, fruit, biscotti, water and welcome maps. The kitchenette was very nice with plenty of coffee and tea. The room and property were spotlessly clean and comfortable. If you have a little more free time, they have complimentary bikes, hula hoops and boogie boards! It is a very easy walk to several water front restaurants, Stearns Wharf and not too bad to get to State Street. I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The harboured is a lovely INN close to the beach and in a nice safe area. The rooms are all individual and we were upgraded to a lovely room. We were only there for one night, but were made to feel very welcome. There was lots to do and the view from the piers lovely. I am not so sure about Santa Barbara, the town seems run down since we last came and we did not feel so comfortable after dark near the shops. The beach area is much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJH-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First off let me start by saying this place is old world guest first for a small motel.
Not only are the rates and ammenities over the top each guest gets there own homemade Banana Bread, what? You are also just steps away from the beach and you feel like your staying at someone's house as apposed to a big hotel. I recommend it hightly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfoodhot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
584 reviews
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $195 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing