We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Harbor House Inn for two nights during our Californian road trip in September. Oh how we wish we could have stayed longer! this is an excellent base from which to explore santa barbara and surrounding area. the beach is literally a footsteps away and the heart of State Street is approximately a 20 minute walk. the rooms are spacious and exceptionally well equipped. the staff are very helpful and will provide all the information and advice you require. this is a lovely place to stay and one which we hope (some day) to return!

Room Tip: if you don't wish to walk the full length of State Street there is a little bus which runs every...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
There are newer reviews for Harbor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 799 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited Santa Barbara in mid September and were recommended this inn by the tourist office. It is just gorgeous! Hugely comfortable beds, amazing breakfast hamper and very close to the beach and harbour. Take advantage of the free bikes and go for a ride along the coastal bike path and up Main Street (which is very cool) to the Courthouse.

This Inn is really great value for money and cheaper than half the very average looking hotels/motels we drove past. We stayed in the smallest room but it was just perfect (I think there is the option of a kitchenette in the larger rooms, but we didn't need one). Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SandNs_bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We first stayed at the Harbor House Inn in June 2012 for three nights. Tonight is our ninth night of our return visit! The Harbor House Inn located in a superb location, just a block from the beach and Santa Barbara Harbor. In my judgement, there is no better location in Santa Barbara. There are no hotels or B&Bs on the beach in Santa Barbra. Carrillo drive, a four lane road, runs the length of Santa Barbara Bay, separates hotels and B&Bs from the beach and is noisy. Thus, hotels that sit on or near Carrillo have a lot of night noise and charge twice the price of Harbor House Inn.

The Harbor House Inn and its owner Karen are so much like much of he culture of Santa Barbara - classy, friendly and immaculate! The breakfast basket contained fresh baked banana nut bread, a variety of juices, fresh fruits, nuts, biscotti, yogurt, coffee, tea, cream, bottled water and other items - that were replenished as we needed. There are a large selection of DVD movies for use at no charge. Moreover, there are a large number of new like three speed bicycles with wide tires that make for incredible bike riding.

We have stayed all up and down the California Coast. The Harbor House Inn is simply terrific and I believe under priced. We will never stay anywhere else in the Santa Barbara area!

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank IndianapolisFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An adorable motor court right out of the 50's---the rooms have been renovated and there are kitchenettes, as well as a great basket filled with water, juices, snacks, and home made banana bread. Rates are 1/2 what you would pay around the corner, and the staff, and the place are really terrific. Comfortable beds, fluffy towels, and a warm atmosphere make this a great place to stay. We have stayed here twice in the past 4 years, and love it. Be aware there is no air conditioning---ceiling fans and a nightly sea breeze took care of the mid-80 degree weather in November.

Room Tip: We had room 1 this time, and its windows are along Bath Street, so if your windows are open, everyon...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family stayed in 2 rooms at this well-run, comfortable inn. The king-bedded room was large and quite spectacular, the queen room was very nice. We loved the little kitchen, comfortable beds, nice furnishings, pleasant neighborhood, welcome basket, perfect location near the beach and walking distance to good restaurants & shops. The comments about air conditioning are fair ones -- it was very hot during our visit, and our open windows allowed in lots of parking lot chatter and street noise. But otherwise, we loved it. The rooms were spotless, service was excellent and ambiance was very pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the street and away from the office if possible
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManhattanAdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Super nice little motor court. King and queen rooms with fully stocked kitchens, unbelievably comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. Included in the price is a very nice breakfast basket, 3-speed beach cruiser bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels (it is one block from the beach). Very tasteful and clean. Great location, you can walk (or ride a bike) to most anywhere. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duggmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We selected this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews, and were very pleased with what we found. The property appears to be a converted building of studio apartments. Our room had a small, but complete kitchen and a very spacious bathroom. The closet was huge, and contained a cot and a safe. The room was nicely appointed and was in very good condition. The window coverings, area rugs and furniture appeared to be relatively new. The King bed was comfortable, the pillows huge. The room was quiet. There were abundant luxurious towels, nice toiletries (shampoo, etc.) and a delightful "breakfast basket" that included juices, cookies, fruit and banana bread. Although we did not take advantage, the hotel offered complementary beach chairs, towels and cruiser bikes. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Hotels are always expensive in Santa Barbara, but we felt we were getting a decent value for the money we spent here. This hotel goes out of its way to make travelers feel like welcome guests. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room with a firm mattress, and that's what we got.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $197 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing