We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel close to the beach”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Whenever I"m in Santa Barbara I stay here. It's located a couple blocks from the longest stretch of beach in Santa Barbara. The area is quiet and safe.

The rooms are large and clean and remodeled...you can select from a studio, to a large suite with sunken air tub and/or a kitchen. They always leave a nice home-made gift basket with juices, snacks, fruit, and home made banana bread that is to DIE for!

They have a garage on the property with bicycles and beach chairs and umbrellas that are free for guests to use.

The staff are friendly, and this is a must-stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle's G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 849 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The premises and rooms were immaculate, and well appointed with amenities. Kitchenette was a great perk and completely functional. The give basket of snacks and fruits was really excellent with gourmet treats. The sleeping rooms was rather small. The wood blinds look nice but make the room a bit dark even in bright sunshine. Bed was comfortable in spite of the fluffy pillow top. Parking is sometimes a challenge when larger cars take up too much space. Bicycle use is complmentary. Short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

On our trip from LA to SF, we stayed in some nice inns/hotels (Fairmont in SF, eg), but will remember our night at the Harbor House as our favorite. Karen and her staff were the ideal hosts and her inn is in a perfect location. We loved the bikes, the cozily arranged outdoor furniture, and our large and impeccably decorated room. We left wishing that we had booked for an additional night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can only echo what other reviewers have said - this was a great value stay, with a delicious basket of goodies including home made banana cake, biscotti, yoghourt, fresh fruit, fruit juice etc ideal for breakfast. Lovely room (standard queen) - bedroom reasonable size, bathroom, good sized sitting room plus kitchenette with little table, fridge, oven, coffee maker etc. We walked to Stearns Wharf for dinner, and borrowed bicycles the next morning to cyle along the beach, round the harbour and up State Street to the Courthouse. Very friendly welcome, wish we could have stayed longer. I wish they had one room with twin beds, as that would be ideal for our teenagers if we brought them along next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamekeeper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We are booking today for this August! I loved everything about this hotel!! We're coming back!! The King suite was luscious! It felt like home!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niniloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were going crazy looking for a nice, inexpensive place to stay in Santa Barbara (so many choices) and we just picked it out from combination of good price, good location (close to pier) and good reviews. We stayed in a queen room in a separated unit not by the main building and so we could go in and out as we pleased without bothering anyone.It felt like our own private apartment since there's not a feeling of being surrounded by other rooms. It was a charming little place.Coming from New York I was expecting a small room but this was big! It was clean, bright, big windows, wooden floors. It had its own kitchen with a big fridge and all the utensils you will ever need. Best of all was the welcome basket which had freshly-baked banana loaf and the best Biscotti's ever! There was also some fruits and juices . It was just awesome. There was a big TV, the bathroom had really nice toiletries and the sheets and towels were so soft and fluffy! The staff was helpful. You get to use bicycles for free. It was just awesome. I wish we could have stayed for more than a day. Really the only littlest issue I had was that the floors were cold (it was cold in SB) and i didn't bring slippers. But all in all it was just so great i would def go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Buddy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great room with terrific 'goodies' and attention to detail. We have travelled a lot and have never had home baked cakes offered before. Excellent collection of DVDs on offer. Highly recommend

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $170 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing