We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Scenery, Sensational!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service, Scenery, Sensational!”
Reviewed July 7, 2007

A beautiful cozy inn with amazing service. B, the manager, treated us just like family. Our room was wonderful; big comfy bed and nice pillows and an awesome jacuzzi tub! Wine and hors d'oeuvres were well done--you're a great cook, B!!! The property is so meticulously taken care of and well done. Beautiful landscaping with grass, trees, flowers, the fountain. It really is a vacation in and of itself. And the fact that it's in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara makes it worth every penny. It was our second honeymoon and wow, did this hotel make it fabulous!! Oh, and I cannot forget the breakfast brought to our room each morning. YUM!! The staff is so friendly and so accommodating. I recommend this place over and over again, you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The service and the location.
  • Disliked — If you don't like old style victorian decor in an old house, it may be way too much for you.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lilaagaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    148
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
97
470
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leah
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Beautiful old Queen Anne Victorian. Bharti, the manager was lovely. One block off State Street and a thirteen block walk to Stearns Wharf,

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

If you are looking for a B&B experience in Santa Barbara, Cheshire Cat is a good choice. The Alice in Wonderland decor is tastefully done throughout the premises and the gardens are a peaceful oasis. We especially enjoyed our stay since we had the run of the place with a private breakfast served to us in the dining room as well as a private wine/cheese hour enjoyed in the gardens. The hosts are attuned to providing as much/as little interaction the guests desire. We stayed in the Caterpillar suite which I recommend because of the private balcony. The Cheshire is located on a corner lot and a busy street runs along the side of the main house (if you are sensitive to noise, this should be considered and you should contact the Cheshire directly to reserve rooms not facing the street - unfortunately, the gardens also experience some traffic noise). Overall, the place is conveniently located near State Street in a residential area and provides a tranquil place to enjoy a SB stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crawfordNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We only stayed one night but really liked this place. It's not cheap but it is quality with really nice period features, free wine and nibbles, good service. There's off road parking, lovely gardens and an outdoor spa. Location good, in a quiet avenue with restaurants in walking distance.

  • Liked — Location, period feel
  • Disliked — Not cheap
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

A special find in Santa Barbara! Scrumptious breakfasts (french toast with marscapone cheese!), gorgeous garden, and extremely friendly innkeeper! The only drawback is the absence of a resident cat :(

Easy walk to State Street, too. All in all, a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmettocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We have been going to the Cheshire for 18 years, and have stayed in almost every room. The accommodations are beautiful, the breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented, the staff is kind, warm, and so helpful (we love Bharti). I can't rave enough about this place. I won't stay anywhere else for a getaway.

  • Liked — Quaintness, staff, food!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

I just recently got married (Dec 30, 2006) and we were looking for a place to have a "mini-moon" until we can get away for the full blown honeymoon! So we decided on Santa Barbara since it was close enough in proximity to where my pets were being cared for (2 sick kitties with cancer). Boy oh boy were we ever in for a treat. The Cheshire Cat Inn was amazing! The representative from AAA let them know it was our honeymoon and even though we couldn't quite afford the honeymoon suite, they still made us feel special by having a chilled bottle of champagne, balloons, chocolate and a card waiting for us.

The room was exquisite in a very comfortable way! We had a gorgeous jacuzzi tub and fireplace in our room. It was put to good use during our stay! Regardless of the gorgeous tub and fireplace there were many small, home-like touches that made our stay special! We had fresh cut garden roses in our room. There was also adorable "kitty" decor. The coolest thing from my perspective was an old letter (1899) that was addressed to the woman our room was named after, framed on the wall- I do genealogy which is why that was so cool for me. Another really neat touch was a journal that was left in the room for each guest to sign it and share their story and tips for a great stay in the area. In the main areas of the house there was freshly cut star gazer lilies that made the whole house smell beautifully!

Another amazing feature was the gardens. There were flowers everywhere you looked. There were also lovely trees, some of them fruit bearing trees. Sitting in the backyard, it's easy to see hummingbirds. It was most relaxing. The house was gorgeous- there is no ifs, ands, or buts about it!

We had a wonderful stay. The staff is very accommodating and makes excellent recommendations on area restaurants. The evening hors d'oeuvres and wine hour was wonderful. It gives you a chance to get to know the other guests. We made friends with a lovely couple from England. Our trip there was perfect. Even though we stayed there for only two days, it truly felt like a week. We highly recommend a visit here- YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The attention to detail and the way the B & B did everything they could to make it feel like a home away from home!
  • Disliked — It was a bit difficult to get help from the innkeeper on duty as they were the only one there. It was not a huge deal but a bit frustrating (so small compared to how wonderful our stay was).
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you arrive before 9 PM on a weekday so you can find a restaurant that is still open. Also, if you opt for a room with a jacuzzi, be warned the floor gets REALLY slippery. Be careful! Lastly, make sure you take time to enjoy the gardens in the back and the hors d'oeuvre hour- you can meet some very interesting folks!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ulualoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing