We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night in August. I think we used every service. The Inn was so well thought out. The room was equipped with everything we needed and more. We had the wine and cheese in the evening, then we walked to a lovely restaurant, later we used the hot tub. Then, breakfast in the morning. I am not exaggerating when I say "everything was perfect". The staff was magnificent.
We are not big Alice in Wonderland fans but the place was so charming it did not matter. I think that Alice In Wonderland fans will enjoy it even more.
I should mention how delicious the food was in the evening and t breakfast. And "to go" cups for morning coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halsherm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    145
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
459
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We are a family from Switzerland and stayed in one of the cottages as part of our road trip through California.

The cottage was in very good condition in a good location in Santa Barbara.

We were welcomed nicely but with a look at our 6-year old son it was immediately commented that we had to be staying in the cottages given our 'little one'. Yes - we did. And we understand that people of different ages do not want kids in their way as they could potentially make noise when not appropriate. We understand that. I have to say though that I wish the same policy would apply to larger parties. The first night we woke up at midnight because our neighbors were having a lot of fun on their patio - which is by the way right next to our bedroom. Finally I went out and asked them to please be more quiet - which they actually responded to and went inside - still loud but ok.

Saturday night came along and this time we woke up at 1 pm because there was obviously a larger group with significant amounts of alcohol being very noisy. This time they were inside but with open doors and windows unbelievably loud. No response to any feedback... so we gave up. I went on until 2.30 a.m.

This is a lovely bed and breakfast but if I would book I would definitely check if they allow larger parties. We saw at breakfast that there were at least 10 people of the same party staying - most of them of course in the main house where the noisy kids are not allowed???

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

When we go to Santa Barbara to visit our daughters, we like to stay at the Cheshire Cat Inn. We have stayed there twice now. Our first stay there was delightful and the second stay was even more enjoyable. My impression of this Inn is that they truly care about their guests. When we arrived, we were too tired to go down to the Cocktail Hour. We were very pleasantly surprised when there was a knock on our door and a half bottle of wine was delivered to our room. The Inn is very centrally located to downtown Santa Barbara, the breakfast that is included in the room rate is outstanding and the rooms are very clean and charming. The owners and employees go out of their way to accommodate any requests that you have. We are very happy that we found this place and will stay there whenever we are in Santa Barbara.

I was a Manager at a large Travel Agency for over 20 years and I recognize that the services that are offered by The Cheshire Cat Inn are "out of the box" and appreciated by this guest!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethSC3243UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I were getting married one weekend and stayed at this cute Inn. We love the theme and how it was Alice n Wonderland! We had a very pleasurable stay and the staff was great! They transitioned us to an upgraded room hassle free and they even had fresh flowers, fresh cookies, and a chilled bottle of chardonnay waiting for us on our "honeymoon" night. The food was great!!! The staff was very easy to talk to and so accomodating. They take pride in their business and truly care about making their customers happy. It's great to see!!! The rooms were cute, very clean and well kept up! Everyone should stay here at least once!!! Thank you Chesire Cat Inn!!!

Room Tip: The Eberle Room is spacious, there is a cute blue jacuzzi and also a fire place in the room. Great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

A very cute place and well managed. You have everything you need for a great stay. The service was friendly and efficient. We had the Cheshire Cat room which at first I was concerned about traffic but it was fine. Loved the window seat. Didn't have a wine choice and only white wine. The place is spotless which I appreciate. Great breakfast and garden area. Really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The Cheshire Cat room was lovely. All rooms I'm sure are great. Check out website photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Santa Barbara, I love to try different B&Bs. In all these many years, I had yet to try Cheshire Cat Inn but decided to give this place a try. I am very happy I did! It is a lovely Inn in the Residential area, just a short walk to State Street. Every experience I've had, from the telephone reservation, check in and any interaction with the staff has been friendly, helpful and courteous. The Inn offers 17 guest rooms, suites and cottages very nicely decorated with English antiques. Check out the rooms online as everyone's preference is different. I opted for an upstairs room in the Eberle House, which is next door to the main house. If you long for quiet and peaceful, I would suggest a room on the backside away from the busy street. My room, Alice, was very quiet, with a balcony with a view of the mountains and the courtyard. I was impressed with the lighting (some B&Bs are so dark) and the rooms here have wonderful lights over the vanity. Amenities mean a lot to women and I found the lighted makeup mirror a very nice touch. The vanities also have lots of drawer space. Also, the Inn is kept neat and very clean. Breakfast is served in the summer in the courtyard and features a specially-made breakfast treat each morning. One morning the special was quiche and the scones that were served were delicious (with lemon curd and jam). Many great restaurants are within walking distance. Since I stayed a number of days, I was able to view many of the other rooms and hope to be back soon to try one of them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back on the upper levels are the best, quieter and brighter. I particularly like the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

From check- in to departure, feeling relaxed and happy summarize our feelings. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfasts were varied over our four days and always had protein options. The coffee was good! The late afternoon appetizers and wine were great, but having a red wine option would have been desirable. Our schedule meant we stayed in three different rooms. The good news is that
picking a favorite would be like asking which of your three children you like best. Will return again! Cheshire Cat is a great value compared to some of the pricier options in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddmph69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing