We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I were so sad when we saw that our normal B&B in SB was turned into student housing. So we decided to try the Cheshire Cat Inn, it was lovely! The staff was friendly and very hospitable. The room was clean and comfortable with high quality bathroom products. They served wine & hors d'oeuvres in the evening and had coffee ready bright and early. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. We loved being so close to State St. and the grounds were beautiful, the Inn even had a hot tub inside of a gazebo. Very romantic, perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear of the property are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Cheshire Cat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 731 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

My mom and I were here for 3 nights in February and loved it! One block off of State St. and close to the Mission and highway. The hosts were excellent and paid close attention to detail. The amenities were fantastic... Wonderful, homemade breakfast, evening reception with wine & appetizers, and nice touches in our room. When I return to SB, I'll be back at the Cheshire Cat inn. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you are after a B&B in Santa Barbara then this is the place for you. Situated in a quiet district that is just a short walk from downtown. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. A continental type breakfast is included and is of good quality. Between 5 and 6 pm hors d'oeuvres and wine are provided, and this makes this B&B stand out from others.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here with my partner while travelling down the coast of California. The location of this beautiful b&b is fantastic: leafy streets and within walking distance of all the attractions and beach. The rooms were large and spacious with an old fashioned charm. The service was great, with homemade cookies each night and hosts that know the area well. The breakfast was fantastic (outside in the morning sun), and the complimentary wine and cheese served each afternoon is a great bonus and a great way to get to know other guests! Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingScotsman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great base for a S.B. getaway. Location is one block off a quiet area of State Street yet close to a number of excellent eating and shopping options.

Looking for a relaxing weekend getaway and this was a nice option. Comfortable common areas and plenty of nice places to relax in the yard. Afternoon reception was great to transition from day's adventures and relax before the evening. Breakfast was good and comfortable.

Be mindful some rooms are on a fairly busy street so road noise can be an issue with windows open. Bed was super comfortable and Inn provided a quick retreat from the hectic pace of State Street and the pier.

Room Tip: select room off the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are not used to B&B and had decided to stay at the Cheshire Cat Inn. We stayed in a large, nice and quiet room; the hosts were sympathetic, the complimentary 5 to 6 wine and hors d'œuvre and at breakfast were succulent and the staff very helpful and respectful.
The area where the Inn is located in a residential area and is close to good restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echodularge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I wish I could say what it's like to say at this inn, but unfortunately their customer service was so poor that I never got the chance. The inn is just down the street from where my wedding is taking place, so I thought it would be a perfect place for my guests to stay. I e-mailed them asking if they had availability and gave them the date of my wedding. I guess I shouldn't have even mentioned the word wedding, because I received a short, rather rude e-mail that they had a two night minimum and would be unable to accommodate my guests. Despite the tone, I apologized for not giving them the dates we were looking for, which was indeed 2 nights. They responded, again in a short, terse manner, and said that they were "unable to provide the block requested due to prior commitments to other clients." On their website it indicates that they had 18 rooms available. They just didn't want my business, I guess. If they don't do room blocks I would have been happy to give the guests the hotel info and let them book individually, but since the e-mails I received seemed so rude and that they didn't even want to work with me, all I can say is that I can never recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank brargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheshireCatInn, Manager at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Brargaret,

In reply to your recent reservation inquiry regarding a block of rooms, it was not my intention to come over as terse. Rather, believing that you must be busy with wedding planning and logistics, I simply wanted to be direct, informative and efficient so that you could move forward with your important plans. In retrospect, I should have better conveyed that we do not accept group bookings unless the group were to take over our entire Inn. Drawing from over our 25 years of experience, we have come to understand that groups can be disruptive to other guests and detract from the quaint and quiet atmosphere which the Cheshire Cat strives to provide. As a small property, the interaction between parties of people, no matter how reserved, can create noise and result in other interruptions to the detriment of the individual guest. As I am sure you understand, this is a difficult balance to achieve and a situation where we could stand to lose significant revenue as well as reputation. Moreover, in order to protect the Bed and Breakfast experience, our policy must favor the individual guest over that of the group.

I sincerely hope that you can understand our position and do believe that if you were to ever stay at the Cheshire Cat or at any one of the other wonderful small Inns in Santa Barbara that you would understand this dilemma. I do apologize for coming across as insensitive or unhelpful and reiterate now as I did on my initial email thanking you for considering our Inn and wish you all the success in finding a wedding venue for your guests.

Yours sincerely,


Andrea Dunstan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $236 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing