We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are not used to B&B and had decided to stay at the Cheshire Cat Inn. We stayed in a large, nice and quiet room; the hosts were sympathetic, the complimentary 5 to 6 wine and hors d'œuvre and at breakfast were succulent and the staff very helpful and respectful.
The area where the Inn is located in a residential area and is close to good restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echodularge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    148
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
97
470
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I wish I could say what it's like to say at this inn, but unfortunately their customer service was so poor that I never got the chance. The inn is just down the street from where my wedding is taking place, so I thought it would be a perfect place for my guests to stay. I e-mailed them asking if they had availability and gave them the date of my wedding. I guess I shouldn't have even mentioned the word wedding, because I received a short, rather rude e-mail that they had a two night minimum and would be unable to accommodate my guests. Despite the tone, I apologized for not giving them the dates we were looking for, which was indeed 2 nights. They responded, again in a short, terse manner, and said that they were "unable to provide the block requested due to prior commitments to other clients." On their website it indicates that they had 18 rooms available. They just didn't want my business, I guess. If they don't do room blocks I would have been happy to give the guests the hotel info and let them book individually, but since the e-mails I received seemed so rude and that they didn't even want to work with me, all I can say is that I can never recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheshireCatInn, Manager at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Brargaret,

In reply to your recent reservation inquiry regarding a block of rooms, it was not my intention to come over as terse. Rather, believing that you must be busy with wedding planning and logistics, I simply wanted to be direct, informative and efficient so that you could move forward with your important plans. In retrospect, I should have better conveyed that we do not accept group bookings unless the group were to take over our entire Inn. Drawing from over our 25 years of experience, we have come to understand that groups can be disruptive to other guests and detract from the quaint and quiet atmosphere which the Cheshire Cat strives to provide. As a small property, the interaction between parties of people, no matter how reserved, can create noise and result in other interruptions to the detriment of the individual guest. As I am sure you understand, this is a difficult balance to achieve and a situation where we could stand to lose significant revenue as well as reputation. Moreover, in order to protect the Bed and Breakfast experience, our policy must favor the individual guest over that of the group.

I sincerely hope that you can understand our position and do believe that if you were to ever stay at the Cheshire Cat or at any one of the other wonderful small Inns in Santa Barbara that you would understand this dilemma. I do apologize for coming across as insensitive or unhelpful and reiterate now as I did on my initial email thanking you for considering our Inn and wish you all the success in finding a wedding venue for your guests.

Yours sincerely,


Andrea Dunstan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the queen of hearts room at the Cheshire Cat one night and had a great experience! This was our first B&B stay and it exceeded our expectations. The innkeeper was very accommodating to my boyfriend's gluten intolerance and the wine and hors devours they have in the evening are tasty. Would stay again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The Cheshire Cat Inn was comfortable and had a lovely hors d'oeurves and wine hour as well as one of the best and most plentiful of breakfasts. Cookies by the fire after we returned from dinner. I highly recommend staying here while in Santa Barbara. The I keeper was helpful with suggestions as to where to dine and directions to several attractions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our 4th stay and although we always have an enjoyable visit, this time there were a few annoyances. The main reason we've stayed here before is not only the lovely location (although Chapala can be a noisy side street) but the charm of the entire inn. This is the first time there have been young children at the inn and it was distracting having 2 toddlers running around during breakfast and again at the evening wine and appetizers. We are doting grandparents but would never ever consider bringing them to a B&B..it is just not appropriate and this alone would make us reconsider our next stay.
The sheets and towels are showing wear (the sheets especially were very worn and rough) and should have been changed out on our visit last year; we only received one set of soap and shampoo for a 3 night visit (thankfully we also bring our own); there are no screens on any windows which I find odd because we do have mosquitos and flies in Southern California!
Connie is a very gracious and hardworking host, and the owners need to pay some extra attention to their inn. I had previously written these notes privately to the owners and also shared them with Connie, but have received no response 2 months later....

Room Tip: Alice's Room and the White Rabbit have a nice balcony and are more quiet than the rooms on the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansemery1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheshireCatInn, Owner at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to our normal high standards and please rest assured that I will be diligent in solving the issues you’ve pointed out regarding worn sheets and towels as well as shampoo replenishment. It truly is a disappointment to me that your experience was marred with these oversights and wish I could have corrected them whilst you were in house. The disruptive atmosphere you encountered is also of concern as I do understand that the concept of an Inn does not usually include small children but we are bound by California law to accept them. While not allowed in the main houses, we do accept children in our cottages and on occasion they could be present at breakfast and during our wine and cheese hour. Your experience, however, has made me more aware of this important matter and I will consequently review our current policy so that is not intrusive into our future guests’ environment. Lastly, to address your commentary about window screens, I have added this valid point to our list of improvements and thank you for your constructive observation.

I regret that you did not receive a timely reply to your previous communication but realize that it was sent while I was out of the country. Meanwhile, I hope you will return again to the Cheshire Cat and ask you to contact me directly with any future bookings.

Best regards,

Christine Dunstan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were passing through Santa Barbara and stayed here for 1 night. It is located near the downtown area. A Victorian style home with a fireplace in the lobby area. This is where they serve wine, cheese, and appetizers in the early evening. The room upstairs was on the small size but decorated nicely. We had a queen bed, which was comfortable. The breakfast is the morning was excellent. Had a nice fruit salad and Danish pancakes (which were delicious). They also had a sideboard with bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side of the house away from the busy street and didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cheshire Cat for 3 days in January 2014. This little B&B is simply wonderful. Terrific rooms - we stayed in the delightful Alice's room - great location, wonderful staff and a lovely breakfast with something different each day. Afternoon wine and tasty snacks were a lovely touch. We really did feel we like we were in wonderland.
As for Santa Barbara - we loved it!!

Kevin & Beverley Smith
Swansea, Wales

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but Alice's room was particularly nice with a private balcony overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing