We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Getaway Surprise”
Review of Cheshire Cat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheshire Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Getaway Surprise”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband surprised me for my birthday. Like a purrfect (giggle) husband, he went on Trip Advisor to select a getaway. This place is lovely, quaint, and full of character. We were able to check in early with no problem. It was really nice to have a Keurig coffee machine available in the lobby. Plenty of Starbucks K-Cups on hand after a drive up from Los Angeles.
The Queen of Harts room has a large step up jacuzzi tub. It was a nice treat. Plus, the proprietors included a half bottle of Sauv Blanc and chocolates for my birthday. I thought that was a beautiful touch. We spent an afternoon in town and made it back for wine and hors d'oeuvres.
We shared a drink with two other couples, and also met a third couple spending their honeymoon.
We all ranged in age from 20's to 30's to 60's. Very lively conversation and no one stared at my husbands' tattoos too much. ;) The others offered dinner suggestions and we chose Opal from their suggestions. One of the B & B staff made reservations for us.
We had to leave fairly early in the morning, just as breakfast was being set out. We did make some breakfast sandwiches to go and share our thanks with the staff for a lovely time.
Sadly, I didn't get to curl up with a book in the garden. Next time!

Room Tip: If you stay in the Queen of Harts, bring some bubble bath! I'd also recommend your own pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    146
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
462
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Felton, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the White Rabbit room and it was delightful. Nice balcony overlooking the garden. We enjoyed the wine and snacks in the evening and the lovely breakfast in the morning. A charming property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I enjoy B & B's. They are usually set up for couples, and it is often difficult to find a room to share that's not set up for a romantic get-away. Our room (Alice) was spacious and had a wonderful balcony overlooking the pretty backyard. The staff was very attentive and eager to please. The very generous breakfasts were delicious (oh, the scones!), as were the hors d'oeuvres with wine early evening and the late-night snacks. My clothing was tight by the time we left, but worth it. The Cheshire Cat is so conveniently located -- easy walking distance to many restaurants and attractions on State Street. Parking isn't a problem at the B & B -- lots of spaces.

Room Tip: We found the Alice room (which is not on the street side) very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean43031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were on a driving trip from San Francisco to LA along the Pacific Coast Highway, and we just stopped when we felt like it. What a bonus we stopped out side the Cheshire Cat Inn, and they had a vacancy. Arriving just on 5pm, drinkies and nibblies were being served, and it was nice to catch up with a few fellow travllers. Very civilised.

The Inn is within walking distance of a few good restaurants, and the host (owner) will point you in the right direction.

Rooms are a little on the small side, and the lack of table and desk in our room, was a let down. However, good WiFi reception and plenty of room in the lounge room downstairs was fine.

Breakfast is included - and was more than adequate. It's certainly not the cheapest place in town, but still good value.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a lot of luggage - go for a ground floor room. Lugging bags up the nar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Selected the Cheshire Cat for a near to downtown location to explore Santa Barbara restaurants and architecture. The innkeepers were very helpful, providing discerning restaurant suggestions sorted by one's preferences. The wine hour was great for meeting other interesting guests and the breakfasts a tasty nutritious selection of items supporting the main course. The neighborhood was typically quiet and good for walking. During this mid-week stay, we experienced one of our best B&B values ever.

Room Tip: The Tweedledee room in separate structure at the back of the property was very spacious with a handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swinsv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoy staying at B&B's regularly!! And we do so at higher end B&B'S that are 200.00+ like this establishment. Our first impression was not a good one..although our stay ended up being lovely!!
We arrived Friday afternoon around 2:15 and parked our car in the back of the building. As we were walking to the office, a woman pushing a cart with suitcases was coming towards us. She took one look at us and said "Don't tell me you are here to check in ???" In a rude flustered voice. No "hello" no smile ..nothing!! Surprised..we said that we actually were.
She said" I am very busy now, and you have to leave and come back in an hour! Go downtown..or something!!"..
We were speechless ..wow..what a greeting!! We turned around and left!! Came back an hour later..and the woman was a bit nicer, explaining that she had to move some guests that had issues!!
She showed us to our room and promptly left!! We didn't get the usual details about breakfast, afternoon wine etc.nothing!!
Wow..we both own businesses and are soooo aware that our employees represent US and that first impressions are crucial!! This was definitely NOT a good first impression!!!
The next morning we had a delicious breakfast with a lovely British woman hosting it!!
We stayed for two nights..and it ended up being a lovely experience!!
"God is in the details"..and a couple of things we would suggest that would be fitting with this high-end establishment:
1. Please provide real brewed coffee in the morning for your guests in the adjacent building ( we stayed in the Mad Hatter room.) It wouldn't be that costly to have a thermos or two!! The instant coffee packets were awful!!!
2. Feather/down pillows are a must!! If people are allergic, you can provide synthetic alternatives!!

We don't mean to be too critical, but we feel that honest reviews are important in improving an establishment!!
We always encourage feedback on the quality of our service in our businesses!!
Thank you!!

(Favorite B&B to date: Chanrick Inn, Calistoga, CA)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at Cheshire Cat Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We were most disappointed and upset that one of our staff members failed to greet you with anything but a warm and hospitable welcome. You are 100% correct when you speak of first impressions and how important this is for any business, which is why your informative review is so important. As difficult as it is to read, we are very appreciative that you have made us aware of this issue, so that we can move forward immediately in making sure that it does not happen again. On the positive side, it sounds as if you were able to enjoy other aspects of the Inn and we certainly hope that you will return to visit us again soon to enjoy fresh coffee in the Eberle House and our new pillow options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Came to the Cheshire Cat for a girls weekend and had an amazing time! Everything was perfect. The breakfasts, the fireplaces, the evening brownies, the wine & cheese were all lovely. We would love to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_08_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Street Inn
Bath Street Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Inn

Property: Cheshire Cat Inn
Address: 36 W Valerio St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire Cat Inn features two stately Queen Anne Victorian homes, an elegant coach house with two suites and four two bed-roomed cottages, all surrounded by lush flower filled gardens and patios. The Inn is situated just one block from Santa Barbara's main shopping street, which is full of attractive courtyards and alleys. The Old Mission is an easy 20-minute walk in one direction and the beach a brisk 40 minutes in the other. Each one of the sunny guest rooms and cottages is unique, with an individual charm and ranges from the elegant to the whimsical. Some are larger split-level junior suites with private balconies, some have in-room Jacuzzi s and fireplaces. This romantic Santa Barbara inn also features flat screen LCD/DVD, ironing boards and refrigerators. There is free Wi-Fi and parking. All rooms have private baths and direct dial telephones. The rates include breakfast and local wines and hors d'oeuvres daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cheshire Cat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cat Hotel Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Inn Santa Barbara
Cheshire Cat Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing