We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing To Write Home About”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Here’s what worked out well:

The place is within walking distance of the Wharf and Marina
The room remodel job went pretty well
The grounds look good

Here are some major concerns:

This place is too close to Highway 101 & The Train Tracks
(Too Much Noise At Night)

The Breakfast is average at best

It’s a major walk to the center of downtown

Room 36 needs a new carpet

Where room 36 is concerned, unless you’re okay with no privacy, sleeping w/ the windows open will not be an option because it overlooks the spa

The walls are thin meaning you can join in on your neighbor’s conversation if you wanted to

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 259 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in October, as part of our travels from San Francisco to San Diego.

Santa Barbara to me is the ultimate beach living in California. A very clean and vibrant city.

The hotel is located off Cabrillo and is very close to the beach.

We stayed in Room 40, a 2 bedroom suite, which had a living room/bedroom (king-size bed), 32 inch TV, kitchen with table and 4 chairs, 2 bathrooms and a separate bedroom with queen sized bed.

Offers free internet connection.

The breakfast consisted of 2 types of cereal (Frosties and bran). You have the choice of bagel or crumpet. There is also muffins, tea, juice and coffee.

In the evenings, they had a wine and cheese evening. Which I think is quite a nice touch.

Lacks a swimming pool. Has free parking.

We hired a bike from 5 Wheels Fun Rental (------------) for a couple of hours and went along the beach on the bike path.

Staff need to be more informative about things to do in Santa Barbara, especially with children.

We drove from San Francisco to San Diego (along Highway 1) and stayed in the following hotels (see other reviews).

San Francisco - Nob Hill Motor Inn, 1630 Pacific Avenue.

Carmel - Carmel Resort Inn - Carpenter and 2nd.

Santa Barbara - Casa del Mar

Anaheim - Holiday Inn

And in San Diego, we rented a 2 bedroom condo in Mission Beach for a week. It's far more economical than a hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

The hotel has a nice cottage vibe, as opposed to a mult-story motel 6 characteristic. Located off Cabrillo, 1 block away from the beach.

I liked it best of the nearby properties because of its charm.

However, if you want a large pool, this is not your choice.

I also like the continental breakfast, although I advise taking the walk to a nearby establishment off the harbor, where one can dine with toes in the sand.

One odd characteristic: They have complimentary wine in the evenings. However, the wine is out of a box, although it is displayed in a carafe.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank christiki295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We stayed in the king balcony room and found the room large, spotless, newly and tastefully furnished. The wine and cheese was really good as was the breakfast. We go to Santa Barbara several times per year and this is our favorite place so far. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vboss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2006

Well, the Ritz Carlton is ain't - but neither is the price. We stayed in a suite with a kitchenette over Mother's Day weekend and got a package that included complimentary massage. (Be sure to check website or ask desk for deals.)

Here's the great thing about Casa Del Mar- It is great if you have children! Its within walking distance from the beach, the park, downtown and the aquarium. The suites with kitchenettes are a miracle for those with small ones- and the informal breakfast is just fine for what it is. You get good value for your money.

The older, worn rooms and low-key staff reminded us of our Chateau Marmont days... except cleaner.

Leave all pretensions at the Montecito town line.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vacannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2005

We stayed at the hotel in February of 2005. I was traveling with my husband and two sets of sister and brother in-laws (6 of us total.) Two couples split the 2 bedroom, upstairs unit. It was, as discribed in another review, with one bed at one end of the living room, but it worked out fine for our travelers. My husband and I stayed in a single room, which was quite sufficient. The pool and spa were nice and clean. For the price, the location was perfect. We could walk to Sterns Warf, as well as State Street and the beach. The help at the front desk was very accomodating. Assisted us in every request, from dinner reservations or recommendations to a late check out to accomodate a later flight out. I have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miles4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I stayed at the Casa Del Mar in July for 2 nights with several girls for a bachelorette party. We had a 2 room suite that was clean, but looked very old. My major complaint was that the rooms have no air conditioning, and in July, even Santa Barbara gets hot. Being close to the beach we had a little sea breeze, but that required leaving every window in the room open. The problem with that being the king bed is located in the main part of the room, which had very large bay windows, which meant if we wanted the breeze we would lose all privacy. One of the guys who worked the front desk was just great! (Didn't really have contact with any other staff) He went out of his way to find us a particular type of restaurant and good nightlife for our party. They were also very accomodating to us by letting us check out very late because our limo ride home was late. Continental breakfast was okay, as well as the afternoon wine and cheese, but neither were worth returning for. Overall, not a bad trip, but unless they do a major remodel, I don't think I'll be returning to Casa Del Mar.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hubesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $140 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing