We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false advertising”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #9 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2009

booked this hotel on the basis of positive reviews on this site and nice-looking website. having seen it in person, all i can say is - don't believe the pictures on the website, and take these positive reviews with a grain of salt. the rooms are shabby and crowded around each other in the tiniest of courtyards, bathrooms are unacceptably outdated, parking situation is extremely difficult, and staff were unfriendly from our first call to book our reservation. for these prices, visitors should expect more.

the one thing this hotel has going for it is its great location. having said that, it is surrounded on all sides by more pleasant and reasonably priced (one of which we switched to after seeing the "deluxe" room that was reserved for us at casa del mar) hotels, which i would advise you to book before staying at the casa del mar.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurelleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week and could not be happier. Our rooms had a full kitchen, large living -bedroom with a fireplace. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. It's a nice walk to the center of town. This is a very comfortable and cozy inn.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOSTONtrav0194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

The Casa del Mar looks like an old motel that has had a pleasing update. The rooms are very modern with high quality linens. As with so many hotels, there needs to be more hooks and counter space, but there was a wire wall unit in the closet and a small kitchen that would be ideal for an extended stay. There is wine and cheese in the lobby during the evening. It is one block from the pier and near to a few restaurants. There are numerous other motels in the area so it is safe to walk around at night. We paid $88 and were happy to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Found this Bed and Breakfast/Hotel online. It's more of a hotel than anything. The location was great. Can't complain. It was loud during the afternoon when we were trying to nap. During the night there wasn't any problem.

The room itself was very very small and covered up to look modern although you can tell it was in an old building and it needed renovations. It's definitely way too overpriced.

Breakfast is just regular continental breakfast you would get at a comfort inn. Nothing special. I didn't go to wine and cheese but I'm getting that's the same situation as well.

Overall, it was okay. If i would stay there again? Maybe not.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Mar for our Anniversay and we had an enjoyable experience.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was great and you can't beat the location. They are just a stones through from the beach,wharf and State street.

I give this place "2 thumbs up"!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2VacaStockton_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Santa Barbara can be quite pricey when it comes to hotels, so imagine our glee to find this affordable little gem. Just a block from the beach, this little hotel is a total deal. The room was done in a minmalist asain style. Very clean and classic.
One tip for folks who may like to sleep late, get a room away from their "pool" ( A little jacuzi they have). People didn't seem to mind having their kids out there early in the morning.
Other than that, we totally enjoyed this spot!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crtwrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We lived in Santa Barbara for 10 years and recently moved to Los Angeles. We returned to SB for our wedding weekend and decided to try the Casa del Mar based on their web page and a quick stop in the lobby (they are VERY friendly). The location is perfect-- one block off the beach on the west side-- which means it is not as expensive as a an ocean view room on Cabrillo Street, but really convenient and in a very quiet neighborhood. We stayed in a one-room suite, which included one large room (king sized bed on one end with a sitting area/fireplace on the other), a small kitchen, and a bathroom. The suite faced the "spa area" (a hot tub and little deck area), with an entire wall of windows. We had tons of space in the room, were able to host family during the day, and it was very relaxing in the evenings. In terms of services, there is a good continental breakfast (with Santa Barbara Roasting Company coffee!) and wine and cheese in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly (they printed my dad's boarding pass and he wasn't even staying there and stored our extra wedding cake for us for an afternoon), the facilities are lovely, and the location is excellent. We would definitely stay there again and recommended it to everyone we know in SB for out of town guests.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank liz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $140 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing