We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place where to stay in SB”
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good place where to stay in SB”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very close to the wharf and to the beach the hotel offers a really good location to stay in Santa Barbara. Our room was pretty good and when arrived we had the chance to enjoy the aperitif with wine and cheese they offer to their guests. Maybe a bit expensive like everything else in SB.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    122
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
45
140
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in August 2013 on a west coast road trip. On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised, super friendly staff and a beautiful boutique hotel. Plus wine and cheese every evening for guests to enjoy! Each room has its own entrance from the street and there is a charming courtyard for guests to sit in and enjoy. The rate was high compared to other areas we had stayed but all accommodation in Santa Barbara is high. Free wifi and buffet breakfast. The room was decorated beautifully and well maintained. Excellent location right next to the beach and a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel rooms in Santa Barbara are very expensive, and Casa Del Mara represents a good compromise to the high end properties but still at a somewhat reasonable price. Location was excellent as the beach was just across the street. The pier and State Street were about two blocks away.

The property itself had some nice features including an outdoor public sitting area with a fire pit. There was a wine and cheese reception each evening from 5-7. It felt European as there was a free simple breakfast consisting of coffee, bagels, pastries, juice etc. We opted for something more substantial and Sambos, a local breakfast restaurant, was just a block away.

The room was clean and a bit dated, but nothing objectionable. There was free Wi-Fi which was a bonus. The TV was very small by today's standards, but there was a good selection of stations. The bed was comfortable and our room was located in the back so noise was not an issue.

Parking is an issue. There is free parking but parking spots are analogous to lifeboats on the Titanic: They have more rooms than parking spots. Street parking is available, but a scramble to get a spot.

After we had arrived after just 10 minutes, my wife exclaimed, "I would stay here again". She was impressed with the room, cleanliness, general lay-out, and charm of the property. Although flawed in some areas, nothing changed our minds after a three night stay. We would definitely return to Casa Del Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Del Mar for 2 nights in late July. Travelling with two other females can be challenging at times, but the Casa Del Mar was a very pleasant experience. From the minute you arrive, the hotel speaks quality. The place is clean, staff are dressed well and every question you have is answered. The onsite parking is great, as are the rooms.

For the reasonable price tag attached, proximity to both the town and the beach/ pier, this hotel should be on top of anyone's list.

Personally, the best aspect of our stay was the cheese and wine between 5-7pm daily. While the wine wasn't of the greatest quality, it was an excellent chance to meet other staying at the hotel. We met a number our lovely people that only enhanced our experience.

I would love to thank everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, however they tend to get warm later in the day, make sure you leave your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had two rooms and can only report a positive experience. The staff and accommodation were divine! Santa Barbara offers an easiness married in the hotel ambience. The rooms were fresh and airy, easily accessible from the roadside. The breakfast was also welcoming and more than adequate to set you up for the day. Would recommend. However, please be very mindful of parking on the roads next to the hotel - the Parking attendants can be over zealous! Ensure that you obey ALL of the rules otherwise you will be fined.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinecones_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked two rooms here but had to cancel a month before our stay. We called to cancel both rooms and talked to the manager yet they still charged us a no-show fee. When we called to get our money back they said that we had only cancelled one of the two rooms and refused to refund the fee. The manager was very rude and unprofessional. Given that everything was done over the phone and their on-line system is pretty bad, it's our word against theirs (we are still dealing with the credit card company to get our money back).

I would not book here, once you give them your credit card number who know's what they will do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali_Traveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been coming to the Casa Del Mar since the late 90s. The location and being dog friendly first got our attention. We always stayed in the Courtyard King. The breakfast is great, not a fancy waffle machine but plenty to choose from. Plus afternoon wine and cheese from about 5 to 7PM. We recently came again for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The hot tub was gone and replaced by a courtyard with chairs and in cooler weather a fire pit. It was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine. We waited till the last moment and managed to get a queen room. It was a bit of a disappointment after staying in the Courtyard King. Much smaller and not quite as nice but it is a less expensive room. In the future I will try for at least a Courtyard King. Still a wonderful place to stay. Quiet and it blends in with the neighborhood. If you do have a dog there is a great park with baseball fields just a block away, plus we used to walk to
the wharf with our dog and even to State Street. Parking can be a problem but we usually end the day in the afternoon and being so close to State Street we can walk for dinner and not lose our parking space. Everything is so close. Still our choice when staying in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Would try and get more than just a queen room. It was very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Beach Inn
West Beach Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Property: Casa Del Mar
Address: 18 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3803
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing