We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bath Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bath Street Inn and very much enjoyed the wonderful hospitality that Marie & Deborah gave us. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. We unfortuantely had to cut our trip short due to a family tradegy and Marie and Deborah were genuinely concerned for us and even packed us both a goody bag for the long road trip home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 687 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our son and daughter-in-law surprised us with a stay over in Santa Barbara. We stayed in the Jacaranda room, downstairs and adjacent to the handicapped parking area. The room was perfect and bathroom ideal for handicapped people. We had the most wonderful breakfast.We plan to stay there again. Deborah is a charming hostess.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Bath St. Inn is located in a residential area of Santa Barbara, yet just a few minutes' drive to the downtown activities. It's very quiet, i.e., no traffic or noise from other establishments. Our room was small, but adequate. We were in the Jacaranda Room which is ground level, so no stairs to climb. From the moment you enter the Inn, you know that you are in a peaceful place. There's afternoon tea with homebaked goodies, then wine and cheese at 5:30 pm. Coffee, hot water for tea and the leftover goodies are left out should you want something after you return from dinner out. Breakfast was glorious: juice, home made granola with yogurt, french toast with hot cherry topping. The other guests were all seasoned travelers, and it was interesting to compare notes and stories about places visited. I definitely would recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: There is 1 room that is ground level, but ask if stairs are a concern.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Conveniently located near downtown, this charming B&B was perfect for me. I felt like I was a guest in a home. For afternoon tea there are homemade cakes and cookies put out that are fabulous! And, they stay out all evening so when you come home from an evening outing you can enjoy the goodies! They also put out wine and cheese after 5. Breakfasts were also all homemade and delicious!
The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. If I am back in the Santa Barbara area I would stay here again.
Just a warning, there are a lot of narrow stairs for many of the rooms.

Room Tip: Upper floors have narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurfgirlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Romantic...quaint...incredible homemade meals. The Bath Street Inn is a perfect getaway for couples. The staff is friendly and the cooks have created dishes and desserts that you've never tasted before. They even give you the recipes if you ask. Located in the heart of Santa Barbara, we went there for a Bob Dylan Concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl. A must for lovers...young or old. The rooms are rustic and homey.

Room Tip: Each room has a distinct ambiance and decor. Check out their website before selecting. They have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicFromWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Santa Barbara in October 2011, and stayed at the Bath Street Inn. I suppose I would describe it as the quintessential B&B, although we really haven't stayed at a lot of B&Bs, so we're probably not really qualified to make that judgment. The BSI has quite a few rooms in two separate buildings (eight rooms in the main building, called the 1890s House, and four in the Summer House, which is just beyond the patio outside the back entrance of the main building). We stayed in Susan's Loft in the Summer House, because it has a private balcony that sounded as if it would be a pleasant place to spend some time in the early morning, late afternoon, and at night (on the assumption that we would be out and about most of the time during the day).

We were right on every count. The room is pretty much exactly as described and pictured on the BSI web site, and it was a delightful place to stay. In fact, the entire Inn is a delightful place, with the owners (Marie and Deborah, very charming hosts) and Marti, the on-site manager, making sure that everything is perfectly in order all the time. The weekend we were there was fully booked, and we got to know many of the guests during breakfast time, the afternoon wine and cheese hour, and the evening desert hour. It was the many efforts made by the people running the BSI, the sociability of the guests, and the many comforts afforded by the common spaces and the guest rooms, that prompted me to suggest that this really is a quintessential B&B.

It's a long walk into town when the weather's chilly or rainy, but on most of the evenings we were in Santa Barbara, the weather was balmy and the walk was pleasant. We did have a car, so it was a very quick drive into town if we were late for a dinner reservation.

When we get back to Santa Barbara, which I'm sure we will one day, we'll certainly stay at the Bath Street Inn again.

Room Tip: Several rooms in the 1890s House have balconies, but none as alluring (or as private) as Susan's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Bath Street Inn is a perfect place to stay in Santa Barbara. Our room was in the Queen Anne Victorian home which is quite beautiful. The room was cozy, comfortable, and charming. The location is perfect for walking through the nice neighborhood to downtown Santa Barbara. The staff is very warm and friendly. A full excellent breakfast is provided. In the afternoon/evening there was tea with home baked cakes, and wine and cheese. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rberler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cheshire Cat Inn
Cheshire Cat Inn
#1 of 18 in Santa Barbara
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Eagle Inn
The Eagle Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Address: 1720 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $135 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing