We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit and Join!”

Museum of Contemporary Art Santa Barbara
Ranked #95 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Santa Barbara Contemporary Arts Forum (CAF) is an alternative art space presenting cutting edge exhibitions in visual, new media, andperforming arts.  Celebrating its 35th anniversary in 2011, CAF is the premier venue for contemporary art between Los Angeles and San Francisco and is dedicated to the exhibition, education, and cultivation of the art of our time.  With FREE admission, CAF is the main scene for the arts in Santa Barbara!CAF is located at the Paseo Nuevo Mall Upper Arts Terrace in downtown Santa Barbara, CA and is open Tuesday - Saturday: 11 am to 5 pm, Sunday: noon to 5 pm during the run of our exhibitions and on First Thursdays for our popular Forum Lounge series.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Visit and Join!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Always interesting exhibits of all sorts. Will beguile contemporary art lovers as well as neophytes. If you join, you get invited to cool talks, events and trips. The staff is great - friendly and knowledgeable. CAF is a Santa Barbara gem - I urge Santa Barbarians to visit often and visitors to the area to spend time at CAF to enrich their Paseo Nuevo experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarCoLobo244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“the 1st thursday events are legendary!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

........you will experience up and coming artistes in the spirit of the greatest performance artiste LAURIE ANDERSON!!!!! at the 1st thursday events at the Contemporary Arts Forum...upstairs above Panda Express and Eureka Gourmet Burgers and California Pizza Kitchen down the walk from Brookstone Massage Chairs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and their new head massage machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Contemporary Art Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I'm going to be honest; there really isn't much contemporary art in Santa Barbara that is exciting, engaging, or even relevant. I am often disappointed with the venues that show contemporary work, but the Santa Barbara Contemporary Arts was an absolute exception. The exhibition that was being shown when I visited was intriguing and challenging, and the work spanned across a wide variety of mediums. The work was very representative of the current trends in contemporary art , and it was a relief to find somewhere in Santa Barbara that shows demanding, arresting work, and I am looking forward to their upcoming exhibitions and events!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJames41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Their shows are very, very good. Themes are sometimes beautiful, sometimes thought-provoking or challenging. Always worth the trip!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem and a MUST see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when merely reading the name in my travel book, but I'm glad I went with my instincts because this hidden gem is a must see. I was given the opportunity to meet the director and curator Miki Garcia and what a delight she is! I felt like I was on a private tour at the Guggenheim with her grace and knowledge of contemporary art. I look forward to returning in the future for more artistic surprises!

Helpful?
Thank ehahaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art Santa Barbara also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing