We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria
Ranked #114 of 531 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had not been to Via Vai in over a year but had company and for a quick dinner took out pizzas at Via Vai. They were not very good----- the dough was mushy, the topping sparse, flavorless ---- uninteresting. On the other hand, the salad and grilled vegetables were very good. Maybe I will try the pizza again in another year, maybe not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Italian in SB”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Food is authentic, fresh, delicious. Home made soups and sauces, delicious pasta and pizza. Service was good, prics were reasonable for SB (and Montecito). Atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. Going back ASAP

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ALWAYS MY FIRST LUNCH IN MONTECITO”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to Montecito (from L.A.) and I love eating lunch here on Fridays. Open late for lunch, they serve fantastic pizza, delicious classic Italian pasta entrees and authentic Italian desserts and coffees. Nice wines are available by the glass, you can sit outside and view the surrounding mountains and expect great service. Located in an unassuming strip mall in the upper village of Montecito, Via Vai is always a great choice for lunch or dinner if you like warm atmosphere, attentive service and solid, reliable Italian fare with a traditionalist's twist. Definitely try this place when in Montecito.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WehoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second best pizza in California.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The specials are always wonderful and the service is just perfect for a hometown haunt. No one beats their spinach salad! A must if you visit Montecito.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernSurferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service / Very baby unfriendly”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I used to love this place and ate here quite often. At one time it was my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, I can't say that anymore.
The last few times we came here, the waiters were extremely rude. I don't know if there has been a management change, but they were never like this. A couple times, we were lucky to get any attention at all. We kept returning and giving the the restaurant more chances, but after the last experience, we never will again.

The last time, we came in the afternoon and sat on the patio with our newborn infant. After being ignored for a while, we finally ordered. Being a little chilly out, we flagged someone down and nicely asked if they could turn on the heat lamp for the baby. He said "We don't turn on the heat lamps during the day" and left.
This is insane. We should have left right then. For this we will never go back.

The only reason it gets two stars, is because, unfortunately, I do like the pizza.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biljana321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing