We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who runs front of house?”

Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria
Ranked #106 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Barbara
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Who runs front of house?”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from eating there...food far below the average they usually serve (but this is twice now that the food and service is sub--standard), everyone said it was like it had all sat under a heat lamp--FOR A LONG TIME....As for front of house: W\ho runs this place? The teenager who seats you? The gruff manager seeming guy without a bit of Italian charm to calm his customers? A bunch of people running from table to table with wrong orders. Lets hope Pane e Vino (owned by the same people) hasn't fallen to this low standard. Don't usually want to point out negative stuff but this was really just unacceptable and it was the second time in a few weeks. I've eaten there a dozen times and never really felt the need to praise the place in a review, but neither would I bash it. Now I am afraid it is in sad need of a makeover. High Notes: Hard to screw up a salad

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Via Vai is unpretentious and we always eat there when we're driving through Santa Barbara, and very good, food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katethecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza on the Patio!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Our bellperson sent us to this restaurant on our first night in Santa Barbara. It was perfect for our travel weary dinner! Casual, efficient, and delicious thin crust pizza. What's not to love??

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gac620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place appeared to be a local hangout for those from the area around Lotus Land. However, we did not realize we needed a reservation at Lotus Land because, we were told, the neighbors object to all of those tourists coming to visit. It would seem some of those visiting Via Vai might have the same view, but the staff was friendly and the food was very good for lunch. We shared a salad, soup (excellent bean soup), calzone and a carafe of syrah and it hit the spot. Not fancy, but very good food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrknef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Good food but don't get stuck at the table near the rest rooms. Maybe that isn't a problem now as I haven't been there in awhile. Food was good.

Helpful?
Thank DCorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Via Vai Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing