We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They showed that they really appreciated our custom.”

Andersen's Danish Bakery
Ranked #4 of 26 Dessert in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“They showed that they really appreciated our custom.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had dinner at Andersens. Although we only ordered an entree, the proprietor delivered an excellent amuse bouche! Gets everyone off on the right footing. We noticed that as we ordered bottled still water one of the staff went out to get some...they could easily have said they only had sparkling!
Great cakes for pudding as you might expect at a bakery!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    111
    29
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a very cute place with excellent food. The pastries are nice to look at and even better to eat. It was highly recommended by a friend, who always stops here when they're in town. It will become our favorite as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Cup of Tea in USA”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Visiting Santa Barabara, in need of Tea and cake and came across Andersens. They serve Hampstead Tea which was the best cup of hot english tea I have had since visitng the US for many years. I also had an apple cobbler cake, it was like a bakewell tart but with cooked apples, bit of an acquired taste but enjoyable none the less.

Their other cakes looked delicious also, lots of chocolate infused and covered delicacies.

Service was excellent and if in Santa Barbara and you want a proper cup of english tea, this is your place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food here was fantastic. Awesome patio seating right on State Street. My husband had the sausage that is made from scratch right in the kitchen and was super good. I had the stuffed croissant french toast, which was also incredible! Bakery also looked delicious...definitely check it out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, lovely breakfast”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely breakfast today. We parked at the end of main street and walked up looking for the "perfect spot" and loved the outdoor seating available at Anderson's. With the interesting foot traffic we had breakfast and a show. I enjoyed an omelette and my husband wolfed down his French toast. We ordered a side of potatoes which was the only unpleasant part of the meal because they arrived cold and unappealing.

The service was outstanding with the wait staff working as a team to ensure prompt and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank WendyNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andersen's Danish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Andersen's Danish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing