We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great garden and fire pits”
Review of Zaytoon

Zaytoon
Ranked #23 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great garden and fire pits”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Zaytoon. The food is good quality middle eastern food and lovely wines. Service was good but the main attraction is the wonderful garden setting with fire pits on each table, fairy lights and waterfalls!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    93
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great mediterranean food, fire pits, and live music”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I love this place. Outdoor seating areas are great with fire pits in the middle of the tables, heat lamps for chilly evenings and nice string lighting that is tastefully done.

We love the food, especially the zaatar and pita and the many vegan options for me. Big portions, so you can usually take some home. Service is unexceptional, but good.

If only it were a little cheaper, we would probably go here all the time. As it is, we save it for a special treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiaKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat and chill”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many reviewers, I have to agree that the the outdoor setting is beautiful - the lovely ambiance made it for a beautiful summer night out after an awesome show at the bowl. Aside from the setting, staff is friendly and attentive and dinner portions are fairly huge. We ordered the Hummus w/Shawarma for appetizer and it was delicious - rich flavors with every bite. We also got the Kebab combo, which was also pretty good. And for a standard cork fee charge, we were able to bring our own bottle of wine which made our perfect night out even better.

The only minor thing I want to point out are some of the chairs in the outdoor dining area. The chairs we were provided are much bigger and lower to the ground that what i'm used to at other outdoor restaurants. It makes eating across somebody a little uncomfortable since they'll seem so much further away than they really are. Not a big deal, but I think next time, we might opt for a different table with more standard chairs.

Next time I'm in SB, I definitely wouldn't mind coming back to Zaytoon for another great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular Garden setting, Ok Food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

the outside seating is spectacular and very charming. As for the food being very familiar with Middel Eastern Cuisine I would say it is Good, but not excellent

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Basim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“pretty sparkly garden, food good but nothing amazing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

this is a very very pretty garden set up with lots of twinkle lights- would create a lovely wedding atmosphere. The food was fine but nothing spectacular. Service relatively friendly. Nice ambience but not sure i'd go back when so many places to try in SB.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytoon also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Zaytoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing