We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing garden spot downtown”
Review of Zaytoon

Zaytoon
Ranked #25 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing garden spot downtown”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Some good friends were taking us out and suggested Zaytoon or one of the local steak places. We wanted to try something different and a place we'd not been to, so we opted for Zaytoon and I'm so glad we did! Seeing the restaurant from the street, you'd never expect the beautiful setting, especially at night! It's a lovely garden, the walls are covered with jasmine, grape vines and other greenery, and once the patio lights and the individual fires at the patio tables are lit, it is just beautiful. There were four of us, we had a selection of appetizers: hummus, tabouli, yogurt, falafel and more, accompanied by a bottle of Ksara wine (very nice!). For dinner, we all opted for the lamb kebobs, so we ended up getting three orders, which was plenty of food for us. Dessert was (of course) Baklava, which was very good. The service was EXCELLENT, very attentive, a great experience and I would highly recommend this restaurant. We were there on a Wednesday and it was quite busy, so I would suggest reservations, particularly if you are planning to go on the weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    89
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome garden getaway”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The outside garden is magical at night. wonderful music playing during dinner. They're open late and don't rush you out. Food was perfect for our big group. Share the vegie platter and salad - they are both large. Lemon chicken was our favorite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catlohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose Zaytoon for a casual lunch on a lovely Summer day, and were seated in the outdoor garden courtyard. It was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy their delicious food. The prices were exceptionally reasonable for the quality of food we received. As a bonus, our waitress remembered that I did not want onions in my Lebanese chicken wrap and had made certain that my salad didn't contain any either (my daughter's did, so I knew the waitress had made a special effort).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
328 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An exceptional find.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wonderful meal and ambiance . Lovely outdoor seating. Our service was good and this was a fun people watching place also. The portions were ample and I left some of my lamb shank on my plate as we were traveling and had no refrigeration. My husband had the lamb shawarma which he thoroughly enjoyed. We had a few appetizers which were again ample sized and 2 entrees and 1 beer all for the reasonable price of $80 . Outdoor seating is the best if you can get it as it was full when we left. Definitely worth a trip to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Like being invited to a cozy,lovely party!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We heard music....Santana's " Samba Pa Ti" ....when walking the streets close to our hotel, looking for a place to have dinner. We were simply DRAWN to this place. You come in and it looks like a party in some bodies backyard with gas fires going at every single of their round tables. Soooo cozy and inviting. Lebanese food was really nice and tasty....service were SUPER friendly, efficient ....there is nothing not to like about this place on a cool summers night. Live Music awesome.  Just GO!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytoon also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Zaytoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing