We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly authentic Lebanese in a charming atmosphere”
Review of Zaytoon

Zaytoon
Ranked #24 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Lebanese in a charming atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here twice over a 3 day visit. My husband had a Lebanese grandmother and he felt these dishes were as good as homemade. We stuck with ordering lots of appetizers since they are our favorite dishes. Can recommend: hummus with beef shwarma and pine nuts, baba ghanouj, grape leaves, zatar pizza, fatoush salad and falafel. The outdoor seating with the fire pits in the middle of the tables and all the little white lights was CA dining at its best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTBirdSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    89
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier in the night, at about 6. The service was good but the food was amazing. After the sun comes out the pits in the middle of the table get lit up and the vive of the place is incredible. They also have a band which plays after 8 which makes it even more relaxing. We ended the night relaxing with some hookah and enjoying the music and warmth of the fire. A good pick to end a night of shopping.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Araseli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My best restaurant in Santa Barbara.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to alot of middle eastern restaurants but this one tops all of them. The food, hookah, firepit tables, landscaping, service and atmosphere was absolutely amazing, this is the kind of heavenly evening feeling ive been waiting for in a long time. Dont miss out on this restaurant if your visiting Santa Barbara!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lebanese Home Cooking”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Every Lebanese boy thinks his mom makes the best tabouleeh. I'm not Lebanese, but i did live in Beirut for nine years, and I have had my (ample) share of Lebanese cooking, at home and in town. Zaytoon serves the real stuff. The meze we had: Kibbee, hommos awarma (with meat) baba ganoosh, tzatziki (ok that's Greek) and batata harra (fried potatoes with garlic and coriander) were amazingly delicious. We had two delicious bottles of Massaya Classic Red, and they were a wonderful walk down memory lane. I have been to their Bekaa vineyard, and tasted all their vintages and arak. The winery has a buffet restaurant to die for, but I digress. If you like Lebanese food, go to Zaytoon, you will love it. If you want a taste of Lebanon, go to Zaytoon, you will find it there. JUST GO! The food is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a great place! The staff is super friendly, the food is delicious, the music is fun and lively(classical guitar) .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaytoon also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Zaytoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing