We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small & crowded but worth it”
Review of Via Maestra 42

Via Maestra 42
Ranked #39 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
santa barbara, california usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“small & crowded but worth it”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food is consistently good and authentic so it's easy to recommend with confidence. We go early for lunch and avoid most of the crowds. They are open for breakfast and for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jljsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“As close to Italy as possible”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great local neighborhood special place. Small and cozy with wonderful menu full of Italian specialties. I had the evening special that included salmon on risotto that was extremely tasteful. Full Italian wine list including a full bodied Chianti by the glass. Very attentive staff inspired by a true Italian owner who pays attention to detail. Absolutely one of our favorites.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Superb food which was closer to what we've had in Italy than anything else outside Italy. The service was lovely and genuine. We sat outside under the heaters for a quiet romantic evening. Wines all Italian and not cheap but worth it for delicious Chianti Classico. So glad our motel recommended this great place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliceZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara's best kept secret”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visit Santa Barbara, every year for a couple of months. The food here is inventive and wonderful. Our sevice today was superior and far exceeded our expectations. What ever you do, don't miss the desserts. We were telling the waiter that we hadn't tasted such wonderful pasteries since our trip to Italy. We then found out that they fly in their baked goods, geleto and pastas from Italy.
The only problem is that it is a fairly small place. It would be wise to come early or call for a reservation

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattenven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A small place that plays a big tune.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a rather small place on the far end of State Street so is easy to miss, but there is plenty of parking in front. The interior is also not too impressive but is well filled with smiling diners. An encouraging sign in any eatery. There is a good menu with various interesting choices.
Lynda and I decided on a mushroom polenta that came with a truffle sauce. The plates were quite pleasing to the eye when they arrived and enough polenta to satisfy the average appetite. There were also little black specks of truffle in the generous amount of sauce to make it authentic.
We were both pleased by the smell of the dish and then extremely pleased by the flavor of the food itself. It had come with a very tasty bread that made a perfect combo with the polenta. So all you polenta fans out there, this is one you must not miss!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrBud_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Maestra 42 also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Via Maestra 42? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing