We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“straight-forward food, fast”
Review of Tee-Off

Tee-Off
Ranked #163 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntington Beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“straight-forward food, fast”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After reading the reviews, we decided to try the Tee-Off. We are golfers from out of town and thought it would be kinda fun and we were starving and it was close to where we were staying. Went on a weekday. Pretty straight-forward, as the reviews state; it is located in a strip-mall, run down shopping center between a nail salon and spud nuts donut shop. As we entered we were asked if we had a reservation - "NO, I hope this won't be a problem." No problem! We were seated immediately. It is dark; we were wondering why SO dark, had a hard time reading the menu and seeing the golf memorabilia on the walls. The picture is misleading - it is cave-like. Waitress comes pronto, food starts coming immediately (hurray!) Had an old-fashioned which was good and stiff. Service was quick and efficient. Food was average to above average, and there is plenty of it. Dinner entrees come with bread, soup and salad, side and main. We were stuffed upon leaving. In the car we took a poll to rate this place - it rated from a 5 to a 7 out of 10. Would come again, would recommend it with necessary disclosures!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MD1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome place, our new favorite regular place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Amazing fried chicken, lot of food for what you pay. Everything is home made. Don't let the appearance fool you - this place is great. Soups Are homemade, so is salad dressing, potatoes. Service is always great. I refused to go here for the longest time and my wife finally convinced me. So glad, I'm now making up for lost time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enough Food for two days”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had a great experience. Really pleasant server with a large meal of soup salad and big steak. Was a nice experience on a road trip. Was good value and interesting in a loud dark bar way. The teenagers liked it as well which was a bonus

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slowrunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old School American Cuisine served in a classy establishment”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Tee Off is one of if not THE best restaurant/bars in Santa Barbara. Their Scottish golf themed back room is populated with cabinets filled with aged whiskeys for sipping. Their menu is a straightforward venture into carnivorous debauchery (That's a good thing btw, for any vegetarians reading this). They are known for their prime rib, but their ribeye and porterhouse steaks are some of the best in town. And oh...the bar...these folks pour them stiffer than starched shirts on a frozen day, and they taste far too wonderful to actually contain the booze you watch them pour. Both bartenders are top notch mixologists, not to mention witty jokesters. The clientele is on the elderly side, but since the elderly are far more interesting to me in my 40's than the general collegiate bar bunnies and rich kid wanna be gangsters that populate most downtown establishments in SB, this is a huge plus. So if you're looking for a legit watering hole with great food, stellar drinks and engaging conversation, look no further. The Tee Off delivers in spades.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Tonight was a mixed bag”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Normally Tee off is 5 stars all around but it just wasn't the same tonight. The blue moon martinis were spot on. The crab cakes did not taste good at all and it came with mash potatoes that I swear we're out of box. Salad was average and the soups were just ok. The steaks lived up to their rep and the waitress really wasn't into it at all. The Tee off is one of those dark seedy places with stiff drinks and great steaks and that was about it on this night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedimasterkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tee-Off also viewed

 

Been to Tee-Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing