We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite good El Cheapo”
Review of Rose Cafe

Rose Cafe
Ranked #159 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Definite good El Cheapo”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really quaint with some of the best inexspensive Mexican food you'll find anywhere. Refried beans taste real home made, which they are. We had the mix of green and red sauce, and I like the red better. Everything tasted as if made on premise, which we were assured it was. Except for the tacos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We dined @ the Rose Cafe on Cliff Dr.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We utilized a Groupon or something similar for this restaurant for the second time. We only travel to Santa Barbara twice a year, so we usually can take advantage of the 3 month wait time between printing coupons. We had heard of the one on Haley, but when we decided to do our laundry one day before flying home, we discovered the second location up on the Mesa. Nice restaurant, pleasant service and pretty darn good food! And as someone else noted, their Colorado Chile is super yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N2FOTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Discovered this place on a recent trip to SB. Best damn Chile Colorado I've ever eaten. It was so good I came back the next morning for breakfast. Do not miss this true gem of a restaurant. It is in fact the real deal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best family mexican in town”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Been going to this little gem my whole life. What a wonderful experience it is every time. And really great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieAlexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican breakfast!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice little storefront restaurant with good service and great food! The salsa was amazing. I had chilequiles with chili verde. Soooo good, I wanted to eat the whole thing, but I just couldn't. Hubby had a chile relleno. He couldn't finish his either. Great flavors, tender pork, super sauce. Yummm!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jewelty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing