We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best that Mexican food can get” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Cafe

Rose Cafe
Ranked #155 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best that Mexican food can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our visits to Santa Barbara always start with a delicious Mexican breakfast at Rose Cafe on Haley. Not much to look at, but are you there for a great meal or ambience? Hmm, Hmm Good!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveler634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great salsa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Delicious Mexican food. The chips and salsa were great. Ordered a chorizo tostado that was really spicy! He loved it. My enchiladas were great. It is off the tourist path, but well worth the stop.

Helpful?
Thank erinautical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ther Rose on Haley is a Santa Barbara institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Small, local and not fancy with great food and reasonable prices. Everything is wonderful and don't be put off by the Haley St. neighborhood. This is a Santa Barbara institution in the same league with Joe's and Harry's and I have been dining there at all hours of the day and night since the 60's. If you only eat Mexican food one time while visiting SB the Rose on Haley is your place. There is another Rose on the Mesa in a much different neighborhood and I'm sure it's good but I haven't been there. My heart belongs to the original Rose on Haley St.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Friendly local Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have gone to Rose Cafe numerous times. There are two one on the Mesa and one on Haley. We've been to the one on the Mesa more often. The Mexican food is good and very inexpensive. We stopped going to Rose because my wife likes tacos and their "beef" tacos have a large quantity of potato in the filling. It's their recipe and won;t change it, so be aware when you order beef tacos. Otherwise the food is good.

Helpful?
Thank straehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Been going to Roses on Haley Street in Santa Barbara for breakfast for over 30 years. It is my to go to place when I arrive back in Santa Barbara. The food is good and priced right and the people that work there make you feel right at home. The Haley location is the original location and hasn't changed at all since I started going there. As one said, it is old and funky which is why I keep retuning. I will faithfully return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iamalwayslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing