We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Shellfish Company

Santa Barbara Shellfish Company
Ranked #11 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Trabuco Canyon, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Be willing to wait, you add your name to outside list... small place, mainly counter or bar seating inside, few tables outside. Very fresh, good food, loud music.. definitely soaking in the sea and "fisherman" atmosphere. Nice friendly staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryfw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    356
    104
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sure its a nice location but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We got here after we'd just arrived in Santa Barbara and were keen fpr some fresh seafood and the reviews led us here.

It was about 7.30ish by the time we got there, saw the queues and decided to order something to eat outside as it wasn't too cold. We ordered the mixed platter with fried calamari, scallops, shrimp and oysters.

The calamari were like rubber from overcooking and /or not soaking the squid in milk to soften it first, the oysters were cold and greasy, and in general the plate was just, well, a disaster.

In fact I think the actual word I used was "yuk".

Maybe the food they serve inside is better? But after that experience we weren't going to try again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped in Santa Barbara for lunch and this could not have been better.
Located at the tip of the wharf with beautiful views, this unpretentious place ticked all our boxes.
The freshest seafood expertly cooked.
What more can anyone want.
We loved it.
It is extremely popular and you might have to queue a little, but it is well worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKguest_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food! Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We are big seafood eaters. We've eaten here before, but today was the best. We ordered the peel and eat shrimp which was perfectly cooked. It was crunchy. The fried clam strips were perfectly cooked as well. They weren't chewy like others we've had. The fried oysters were also perfectly cooked. Most places fry them until the oyster is completely solid, which ends up being dry. The fried oysters were just cooked. Batter on all fried food was crispy and light and did not overpower the seafood. The only problem I saw was the fact that a little after noon, you had to wait. The restaurant is small with only a few tables. There is a window you can order food from if you don't mind eating out on the public tables at the end of the pier. Too many birds for my liking, if you know what I mean. If you have the notion to eat here, go early to avoid the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveSummerRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fabulous find, at end of wharf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a lovely small restaurant at the end of the wharf. Well worth the wait for a table, in fact we sat at the beer, and saw all the action. Draught beer, chowder, crab cakes, fabulous selection of shellfish. Unfortunately we only stayed one night at Santa Barbara or we would have definitely been back. Reasonable prices too. Fabulous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greekislandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Shellfish Company also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Shellfish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing