We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very casual”

Santa Barbara Shellfish Company
Ranked #9 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Nipomo, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very casual”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We wanted to try this restaurant for lunch since others had recommended the food on TA. My cousin and I are both seniors and she is blind. I did not realize there were no tables inside the restaurant; only picnic tables outside on the wharf. When I asked the waitress about tables she told us there was one empty table on the outside and said which way to turn after we asked for directions. Unfortunately, the young couple behind us heard her and dashed ahead to sit at the table before we could get there. Seniors are a little slow when one is blind. Since there were no other tables available and we couldn't find the waitress, we left and ate elsewhere. If you want a restaurant with tables and help with seating, this might not be the best choice. Sorry we did not get to try the food,.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    374
    113
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious crab, lovely sight”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Loved this place, which is ideally situated on the pier with a wonderful sight on the bay and the little harbour of Santa Barbara. The crab I had was delicious and the staff was very nice. It is a very popular place, so you might have to wait some time before you can have a seat outside.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whoopie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We wanted seafood on the Wharf. Santa Barbara Shellfish Company was well-rated on Trip Advisor, so we went for an early dinner. Tables are outside. Counter seating inside. You will expect your food to come in a basket because the place looks like a seafood shack. But no! It comes on plates with linen napkins. Everything was delicious (clam chowder, salads, pasta, deep-fried seafood), fresh and served promptly. ...And well-priced. Our dinner was all we hoped for...and more!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling3500
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOTS OF CRAB”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Thank You Trip Advisor, this place should be on Diner,Drive-in and Dives. Fresh Crab, Had Crab Cakes and wife had Crab, Cheese on Toasted Sourdough. SUPER. Also,COLD Anchor Steam Draft. If you sit at the counter you can see your meals prepared. A real teamwork in the Kitchen.
Located at the end of Stearn's Wharf. Outside seating available. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellng3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavoursome and such good value.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped off at Santa Barbara for lunch on our drive from The Big Sur to Santa Monica LA on a recent Californian Roadtrip. Santa Barbara is a small, sweet seaside town focused on it's beach and pier. Being from the UK we were quite alarmed by the fact that the majority of the pier was reserved for parking but at the end of the hubbub we found this exceptional seafood bar. The wait for a stoop at the bar was 30 minutes but it was so worth it. We could have waited as long as that for take out at a seperate queue down the side of the restaurant. We squeezed onto the end of the bar to watch the live lobster and chef action rather than taking a table outside on the side of the pier. My husband ordered a calamari sandwich and I had crab cakes. It was excellent. If you are feeling like working for your lunch the fresh lobsters looked amazing. Fresh, flavoursome and such good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatGreenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Shellfish Company also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Shellfish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing