We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great crab.”

Santa Barbara Shellfish Company
Ranked #9 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Great food, great service, great crab.”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

First time on the wharf and we decided to eat here. The crab was great! We got a the local stone crab special and weren't disappointed. It came with a cup of soup and a salad which was very filling. The food is fresh and cooked right in front of you. My wife wants to come back for the lobster!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imcarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    375
    113
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great casual place for shellfish”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We went for lunch and sat at the counter where we could watch the chief prepare dishes. The place was full and we had to wait about 15 minutes for a seat. Great fresh shellfish. I had the abalone and my wife had the rock crab and both were very good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We opted for outdoor seating so we just ordered at the takeout counter. We waited about 7-10 minutes in line eventhough there were only a couple customers ahead. I ordered a small chowder ($4.50), crab cakes ($13.95), and crab sandwich ($10.95). My crab cakes were perfectly seasoned. I prefer the clam chowder at the Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Don’t forget to have your parking ticket validated ☺

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsiapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Locals love this place too”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Ohh SOOO good seafood, esp shellfish of course. Beer and wine served (no full bar). Be prepared...it is tiny inside...and there may be a wait, but so worth it. Best to go off the prime eating times for the quickest table. Can also eat outside on the picnic tables. Best lobster I've had.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k8tyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a delightful find”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This quaint little place makes you feel you're in a fishing town. Great food, great service, and very good wine. Sitting at the bar and watch them cook was a great experience. They took the time to show us the various live seafood they had available. Funny story, I eat kosher, and the bartender managed to accommodate my diet. My partner loved his half shells from Moro Bay.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gargost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Shellfish Company also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Shellfish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing