We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel but you must secure your valuables...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel but you must secure your valuables...”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great place to explore Santa Barbara and is certainly a boutique gem with an amazing rooftop pool. However, securing your valuables is a necessity...despite the best efforts of management staff unfortunately locating my missing sunglasses proved difficult.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ianwignall79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    213
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
547
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here on or honeymoon after a rather disappointing stay at a hotel further up the coast. It was such a relief to come to a clean, very well-appointed hotel with excellent staff and a fantastic location in the heart of Santa Barbara. The staff could not have been more helpful, the bar at the hotel was fun and there is a superb roof top swimming pool and sun bathing area with amazing panoramic views of the city and surrounding countryside. Well worth staying here if you get the chance.

Room Tip: Try to go on an upper floor to enjoy the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A very busy hotel very close to State Street action. Lovely lobby, and beautiful bar - - and a big shout-out to Bruno the Brazilian bartender who was by far the nicest and most customer-oriented employee we dealt with. Rooms on the small side. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is noisy. yes, it is an older building, but the windows could and should be upgraded to filter out the noise. Blackout curtains had holes in them. Water pressure terrible. Bed (and this is a question of preference) too soft for our taste. We opted to stay, notwithstanding the very high summer rates, because it is a Kimpton. We love this chain, but the Canary is not there yet.

Room Tip: High up, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I had an opportunity for a quick get away and chose to stay at the Canary since the kids were not going to be with us on this trip. The location of the hotel is perfect if you plan to spend most of your time downtown shopping and dining. We were also still able to leave the hotel and head toward the hills for a good run in the morning. This location is not far from the beach, but if you are looking for more of a beach stay, this is not the hotel to stay in.
The staff was friendly and the food at the restaurant was very good. We would definitely come back again for an adults only weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run4rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I travel often and rarely criticize hotels. I wanted to be able to write a stellar review here but my husband and I walked away from this hotel scratching our heads.

We booked a one bedroom suite for one night. There was a 10% discount and was over $600 after tax etc. Not too bad for high season in SB but at that price our expectations of the hotel were higher than what we found.

Our room was on the second floor facing a heavily traveled very busy street. The bed was quite comfortable but the street noise kept us from falling asleep and woke us up very early.

Our toilet was not functioning properly and because we checked in in the evening and immediately left for an event we did not discover this until after 11pm. The kid at the front desk was very kind and helpful but we were originally told engineering didn't come in until 6 am the next morning. It eventually worked but was very noisy.

The phone in the bedroom was dirty, probably from the previous guests make up, but nonetheless disconcerting.

The make up mirror in the bathroom had a huge black spot in the middle( burned? Cracked? Not sure)- unusable.

When we called for a roll away we could not get through to the front desk for some period of time. We finally called room service and they relayed the message for us.

The room in general had visible wear once you were settled in.

Upon checkout the next morning ( we got up and packed and left right away) we called the front desk for several minutes- no answer, next phoned to get a busy signal and this continued for the next few minutes until we finally got through to call for our luggage. The bellman was extremely nice and very apologetic even though it was not his fault in any way.

All in all a bit of an odd experience in less than 24hrs. The staff when we could reach them were very nice and friendly. The location is good if you want to be downtown and near State St. but, with The El Encanto now open and The Four Seasons often offering rates that are not that much more than this was we probably won't be returning.



  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Prompt check inn. Poor service given from the staff when requiring any kind of real assistance. over priced for what you receive , staff not interested in looking after their customers and loud noise internally ( banging of doors and thin walls) and externally ( passes by on a busy road and constant traffic noise) Small rooms , weak shower . Doesn't live up to the reviews. The service is the worst I have had in california out of 9 hotels. I would not recommend this hotel for the price it costs. Lots of other places to choose from in Santa Barbara which is a very nice place with lovely bars , restuarants and shops.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very friendly staff, but not worth the money. For "boutique", read; noisy (bin emptying in the early hours), no shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom, a shower that drips, rather rains water and tiny double beds. A great location in town (restaurants and shopping). Would have no complaints at one third the rate, but not worth the money. Once in your room and using the facilities, it's just a motel.
We are a family of four and stay in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, we don't mind roughing it and we do enjoy luxury. We've experienced many hotels, US, East and all over Europe, but this one is very disappointing for the money. Maybe if you stay out of season for one hundred dollars then you will have a great experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing