We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The staff were relaxed & friendly. The rooms were stunning. The roof top pool & bar was lovely & the views were incredible. They had lots of small touches like next to the roof there was complimentary sun cream, after sun & lemon water on tap. There was coffee all day & the bar was reasonable & so friendly. I could not sleep do enjoyed a soak in the bath whilst watching the news on the bathroom TV . I would recommend this hotel to everyone. A delightful experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    227
    63
    17
    6
See reviews for
212
569
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a great place. We spent the weekend and can't say enough about this hotel. The staff are lovely, especially Megan at the front desk- she's a super woman! I overheard someone calling her "the most efficient person in Santa Barbara".

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel rooms are different in a older style but are immaculate with lots of excellent touches.Good beds and bathroom large and of high standard.
Because of excellent position of Hotel a must walk to do is down Santa Barbara main street and head for the sea and the old pier---a sheer delight.

Room Tip: Junior suites are good
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly hotel with good practices
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

After our wedding in LA, we drove up the California Coast and spent 4 days in Santa Barbara. Hotel staff were polite and helpful (great dining recommendations) - our room greeted us with congratulatory sweets-n-champagne. The Canary is just one block of the main street - State St. Our room faced Carrillo St., I think less outside noise with so-so views - not a big dealio. You have access to a complete gym next to the hotel, free wi-fi, free bicycles to tour around, complimentary wine tasting 5-6pm and probably the best 24hr parking rate in downtown Santa Barbara. The rooftop lounge and pool was a great way to relax. Look forward to coming back,...

Room Tip: Hotel is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpineplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Celebrated our anniversary with a trip down to Santa Barbara from San Jose. Read the reviews and decided to go due to location and high reviews for service. From the valet and front desk to room service and everyone in between the Canary staff exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed breakfast served poolside on their 6th floor pool/patio with the wonderful Santa Barbara weather and views of the hills. Great location 1/2 block from State St (The main street in downtown Santa Barbara). Special thanks to Miles at the front desk who made our anniversary prefect with a warm welcome at registration, an upgraded room and a bottle of champagne. If you're looking for a quality hotel that gets hospitality in a happening location I highly recommend Canary.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozierdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hotel is in a perfect location, everything in Santa Barbara worth seeing was in walking distance. The rooms were romantic and very relaxing! I can't wait to return! I loved the spacious bathrooms and the rooftop pool. Room service was also really great here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our 3 years old Pugle, Zoe, come here often.

The Canary is in a very convenient area of downtown Santa Barbara. Very close to the shopping mall, a walk to the wharf, a ride to the Mission.

A very dog friendly hotel with great smiling staff. At the Reception there is a dog who is on duty....lol. So cute.

Rooms are dreamy. However, I have sensitivity to cleaning products. There are times when we check in, the smell lingers on through our stay. So we struggle whether to stay here or not.

We are not enthused with their breakfast choices. Dinner is ok; not the best.

Guests are rewarded with a magnificent view from the rooftop.

In general, I recommend The Canary.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing