We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still heart Kimpton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Another great stay with Kimpton hotel. This hotel is very centrally located. Right next door to State Street shops, restaurants. It was far enough from the nightlife so that it was nice and quiet. Staff was attentive, responsive and helpful. The room was clean, modern and well maintained. i would definitely stay again. The room rate is expensive, but if your company is footing the bill, this place is a must stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

And we still heart you!!!!! Thank you for the great review and we love to hear about experiences likes these. We hope to see you again soon and often!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We decided to ask Canary to host our niece's wedding there in April, 2013 and what a tremendous experience. The staff were simply extraordinary from event planning, food choices, setup for a rooftop wedding and a stunning ballroom for dinner and dancing. The staff simply have no way of saying no. They find the way! Excellent rooms with luxury amenities in an charming, updated and upgraded hotel. Everyone was exceedingly polite, helpful and accommodating. Best place for a vacation, get away and tremendous wedding venue. Thoroughly delighted with the entire experience. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try the Junior Suite for a bit more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for remembering your stay with us! we strive to make lasting memories with our guests and it seems that we hit the nail on the head with your stay. And thank you so much for highlighting our wedding services. We believe we have some of the best facilities and staff in Southern California and I am glad that you agree. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at this lovely property in June 2012 for my younger brother's graduation from UCSB.
Beautiful hotel, great location right off state street and helpful staff.
For a pet friendly hotel, it's very clean. I'm a pretty picky person about hotels but felt comfortable in our clean room.
We had a corner room with a comfy king bed and the bathroom was more spacious than i expected for a hotel bathroom.
My sister and her husband who stayed at a neighboring hotel visited and wished she had made reservations at our hotel!

Very happy with our choice and will definitely stay here for my next visit!

Roof top terrace had great views for photo ops and there is a nice bar downstairs which is apparently a hot spot!

Room Tip: Request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Congratulations on Graduation and thank you for the great comments! I am thrilled that you had a great time with us and we hope to see you back again soon. Thank you again and have a great weekend!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stumbled upon Canary on Hotwire, after wanting to stay there but refusing because of high price on its own website! Got the room for a fairly reasonable rate, and loved it! Cozy, California chic public areas and rooms. Well appointed. Great service. Too pricey. But, really liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hi Dina! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back often and please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly for your next trip!

have a great rest of your week!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A really nice hotel, with lovely, helpful staff. I have been fortunate to stay several times, and it never disappoints. Great location with all the amenities of State Street just round the corner. Great night's sleep in a very comfortable room. My room had a lovely large bathroom. Roof top terrace has lovely views, perfect for unwinding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoatfieldBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are so glad your enjoyed our location and beautiful ambiance of our property and city! Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you back in Santa Barbara again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed recently for a family event. Our room was well appointed, clean, with a large bathroom (good when traveling with children!). The beds were excellent, and made up very quickly each day. We had a couple of oops moments needing sewing supplies, etc. and the front desk was fast, funny, and kind. I have little negative to say about our three day experience. The roof top pool is small, and elbows a bar, but ok. The valet services were wonderful. The breakfast was WAAAAY over priced, and with so many good breakfast options very close by, I'd skip it. Over all, in such an expensive place as Santa Barbara, this centrally located hotel is extremely useful and a good choice.

Room Tip: We didn't see a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OranVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our wonderful property! I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Finch and Fork! this is not the standard and I will make sure to pass your comments on to the Food and Beverage team. Thank you again for your review and staying with us! hope to see you back in Santa Barbara soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We loved this hotel. Smallish and friendly. Rooms are lovely, clean and comfy. The restaurant is great and the cocktail bar a must. Hotel staff and restaurant/bar staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, just off the main shopping street making it a little quieter at night. Nice roof top pool with views across Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for thew great feedback! I feel like you should start to write some of our marketing materials with a great review like that :)
we are thrilled you had a good time and we do hope to see you back in Santa Barbara very soon. Thank you again and have a great rest of your week.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
ian.mcclendon@canarysantabarbara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $323 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing