We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just stayed one night at the Canary in Santa Barbara and was so impressed. It's a beautifully designed hotel, traditional but eclectic and stylish. Excellent service straight from arrival, the valet and front desk super quick and friendly. The bar here is gorgeous too, with a great happy hour!

Our room was stunning, huge four poster bed and lovely view across the city. It's perfectly located for State Street and a walk to the pier.

Wished we had stayed longer!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Canary Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of the Canary could not have been better. Downtown Santa Barbara offers great restaurants, galleries, and shopping, from boutiques to Nordstrom and you can easily walk to it all and the ocean from the Canary. We only used our car to go to wine country. The rooftop pool area gave an amazing view of the city and also offered a fireplace and heaters at night. We spent our first afternoon enjoying room service drinks at the pool: perfection! The bar was good looking with good service and a good selection of wines by the glass. The room was comfy: my only complaint about the room is that there was no outlet to charge your phone by the bed. That should be standard in a hotel of this quality. The only other reservation is that most of the desk staff were new to the area and couldn't provide much in the way of personal recommendations. However, one of the valets was local and was a great help. I highly recommend it and would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzo-yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We decided to stay one night in Santa Barbara. Really nice junior suite. Very clean and comfortable. Super cozy bed. Worth the splurge. Located in downtown SB; easy to walk to all the great restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyLynnLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The best part of our stay in Santa Barbara was the Canary. We stay at Kimptons every time if we can, and this hotel was beautiful, the staff welcoming and friendly and the service outstanding, from the minute you give them the car to anything you need at the front desk. We usually eat at the hotel once and the restaurant here was good, if a little quiet, but was much more fun on the weekend. The pool area is lovely. I can't say enough about this chain. It is fabulous. If this is a bit above your budget, it's worth the splurge.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clarke56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a one night stay in Santa Barbara and came across this kingpin hotel and I am sure glad we did! Staff is pleasant room size is perfect. Pool area has amazing views I would stay here again in a heart beat

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed two nights at this very charming boutique hotel. Booked two Superior Guest Rooms.

Hubbie and I requested for, and were designated Rm 422 (a non-pet room) and our friends who were traveling with two small dogs were given a corner room, 405.

Pros:
• We couldn’t be happier with our rooms – very clean (exception was the fur balls under a drawer unit in our friend’s pet-friendly room), charming decor and lovely ambient lighting, quality toiletries and a King sized bed in each room.

• Every window was double-glazed which we appreciated as the hotel is located a stone’s throw from State Street. Once the windows were shut, we heard absolutely no noise from outside.

• Front staff and valets were excellent. Wesley at the Reception especially, who checked us in (and out!) and answered all our inquiries patiently. Mahalo Wesley!

• Rooftop deck with pool area, jacuzzi and fireplace was gorgeous. The day we arrived, there was a private event taking place at the rooftop area adjacent to the pool. Thus we thought we were not allowed up. The next day we found out that we could have in fact, enjoyed the pool area then but no one informed us about it.

Cons:
• What we found lacking, as mentioned by other reviewers, was a Hotel Directory of Services in our rooms. When we needed any information about the Hotel Facilities and Rooftop area usage, we had to inquire with the Front Desk or just find out about it after the fact.

• No complimentary bottled water or coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Sure, as Kimpton InTouch members, we were given a once-visit allowance to ‘Raid the Bar’. With the usual mini-bar prices, $10 translated to a bottle of spring water and a juice per stay. Hmm. Sure, coffee and tea were served in the lobby in the mornings and water thereafter throughout the day, but nothing compares to making your own hot chocolate in your room on a cold Santa Barbara evening!

Overall, we had a terrific stay. We enjoyed especially dinner at Jane Restaurant, killer ice creams at McConnell’s and shopping at Plum Goods, all located on State Street.

Room Tip: Our Superior rooms were both lovely with city views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happy2bealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here this month. All the hotel staff we encountered welcomed us like family and were genuinely excited to meet our 2 dogs. We were thrilled that they upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite and surprised us with champagne in our room. The room was very quiet even though it was close to the elevators and above the front door with valet parking. The hotel's location is perfect because it's very close to the activity of State Street. We've visited Santa Barbara every year for the last 6 years and have stayed at some of the top-rated hotels in the city but this hotel far surpasses any of them. We have never been disappointed with a Kimpton hotel and we will stay at the Canary Hotel on our next visit to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wetravelwith2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $362 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing