We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, requires TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, requires TLC”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Canary is a super hotel, staff are brilliant always helpful and attentive, rooms are nice with four poster beds, but ours was showing signs of tiredness with broken shelving, and the door under the TV unit hanging off. room 303, this faces the junction so traffic noise is constant, all through the night, so the option of having the Juliet balcony doors ajar is not one.
Breakfast was excellent and modestly priced @ $12 for the full monty. Overall this is a fabulous hotel, but does require attention to a few minor details to be just perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    213
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
195
547
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is hard to add much to what has been said before. We really enjoyed staying here and it was probably the nicest hotel of the six we stayed in in California. I loved the big shaggy dog at reception (forget his name) but don't come here if you hate dogs! The location, towards the top end of State St, is ideal, and you can easily walk to the beach and enjoy the sights and sounds of the city, though there is a bus shuttle that goes up and down if you prefer. We stayed two nights and left the car in the garage and walked everywhere, though we didn't make it up to the Mission, which is not particularly close. Don't miss the nearby courthouse (see TA reviews) and be sure to go up the tower.
The pool and roof terrace is a terrific asset and we swam the first night really late as it doesn't close until 10pm. The second day we went earlier, and it was slightly busier but still pleasant. There was a private party on the patio which meant it was closed, but the pool area remained open to hotel guests. Note that only some lifts go up to the pool and some - on the other side - don't. Therefore you can often get to your room more quickly by choosing a non pool lift!
We didn't eat in the restaurant as there was so much choice locally, but we very much enjoyed the breakfasts there and everything was of very high quality.
The only slightly negative thing for us was that our room (221) was a bit small for a family and the two large beds rather dominated it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 which was fine - 2 double beds, but slightly small for a family with 2 teenage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_at_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 2nd Kimpton hotel of our Californian holiday. As it was a special anniversary celebration we were thrilled to be upgraded & a special treat of a bottle of sparkly wine (which was very nice too). Great location for shops & some good local restaurants. We found the hotel staff very pleasant & helpful. The wine hour was very nice although only attended one night. But the early morning coffee & chilled fruit water in the lobby was equally appreciated. The only negative experience was when we had 'dinner' in the finch & fork and I'm really sorry to say it was actually one of our least favourite meals. The server was pleasant, but unusually for Kimpton staff not 'genuine' & you just know when they are rushing you they have probably got plans to finish as quickly as possible! He actually brought our starter & main course together because he forgot to tell the kitchen? We also got presented with the 'check' in record time! So not a relaxing evening for us.
That said we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneShropshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Hanborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I can definitely recommend this hotel.
The staff are friendly and so obliging, can't compliment them highly enough.
Love the little touches from the goldfish on the desk to the frog in the bathroom. Loved the mission feel of the hotel and the great location, near to the shops and restaurants. Would I go again ... In a heartbeat! Ps don't miss the happy hour!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmargaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, nv
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Canary on a Sunday night. We took a standard king room which was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, service was great. Only complaint was low water pressure in the shower, which they said they would fix. Overall a great stay, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieclifford13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderfully located hotel. Front desk and bell men provided us with exceptional service, from organizing concert tickets, bike and winery tours. Their customer service made this stay exceptional. We loved our junior suite with a beautiful view on the mountains, an excellent bed and so quiet . Happy hours on the rooftop with gorgeous views on SB were a wonderful way to wrap up the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough – it is an absolutely wonderful hotel and my favourite hotel in Santa Barbara – my partner and I recently stayed for 3 nights for a long weekend and if only we could have stayed longer !

It is a hotel run by an impressive management team that instil a sense to all members of staff, from front of house to valet staff through to cleaning staff, that all guest should be treated with a warmth and sense that you are staying at someone’s house (albeit a boutique sized hotel) – in summary, a brilliant hospitality ethos is visible throughout the hotel.

There are so many wonderful touches throughout the hotel. The reception area is cosy and homely with interesting books available to read at your leaisure. The daily wine hour where you can taste local wines with other hotel guests is a lovely activity and really adds a personal touch to the hotel and gives the Kimpton Hotel Group absolute cut through in a cluttered hotel market.

Front of desk staff are extremely helpful and informative about the local area.

Our room is one of the loveliest hotel rooms we have stayed in southern California - better than the Four Seasons SB and better than the Viceroy Santa Monica, Sunset Marquis in LA, The Peninsula LA (different cities I know, but just to give some context).

It was so cosy, charming and full of wonderful, comfortable details (amazing four poster bed, wonderful pillows and throws, lovely curtains). Special attention has been made to the furniture – nothing bland, corporate or chain like – beautiful furniture that was both aesthetically pleasing and comfortable (none of your Schraeger-esque style over comfort furniture). Lovely touches like the animal print robes, binoculars to go and look at birds, interesting books, great rug. Bathroom was small but cosy too, with a tv screen and big over head shower with lovely bathroom products. It was such a relaxing hotel room with a small balcony overlooking the main street.

The rooftop pool was absolutely lovely, although small, it was well kept with lots of towels and a small bar manned by a well mannered member of staff to take care of orders. Across the pool was a bigger roof top lounge area with sofas with a great view across the whole of SB. It is a perfect escape area if you don’t want to go to the beach throughout the day ( when we were there, it was a little too hot for the beach so we stayed at the roof top hotel).

It is a 15 min walk to the beach walking down the main street so the hotel is absolutely perfectly positioned for whatever you may wish to do in SB.

Finch and Fork the hotel restaurant - the food is excellent and really of a very high standard. We ate on the first night and were so impressed that we ate again there the next day. Produce is superb and I would highly recommend this restaurant. Again the design of the restaurant has been carefully considered with special attention made to make it feel homely and aesthetically pleasing, but with an overriding emphasis on visitors comfort and making it accessible to everyone. Lighting is great (bad lighting can kill a restaurant no matter how good it looks).

The bar area – really relaxed (we watched the US Open) and just order the brilliant bar food or just have a few wonderful cocktails (butter chicken sliders with honey sauce were my favourite!).

My only recommendation to the hotel would be to add some noise dampeners to the room doors as you can hear them slam as people open and close them and can be disruptive. However, this is a small quibble but I thought I would mention it.

My partner and I are from London and had never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before – now that we have discovered the group and joined the loyalty scheme , we are planning on staying at other Kimpton hotels that look equally good as the Canary. We are a planning a trip to the La Jolla one next which looks great, although not before returning to the Canary SB next year!

Simply a wonderful hotel and I was very sad to leave – please experience this unique and wonderful hotel for yourself – an absolute highlight of our California road trip and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben-UK-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing