We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Canary Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Canary. The hotel is beautiful, the location is convenient to all of the shops and restaurants on State Street, and most of all, the staff are truly amazing! They are so welcoming, we felt like we were staying with old friends. They went way above and beyond our expectations!
Special shout outs to Wes, thank you for the awesome room, Catherine, for her great restaurant recommendations, and Bruce, who is quite simply, THE BEST BARTENDER EVER!!!!
Hope to return again someday soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilar/Santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    197
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
175
492
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel in Santa Barbara and everything other reviewers have written is absolutely true. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. You must also try the Fork & Finch restaurant in the hotel -we enjoyed a delicious supper with superb very personable and friendly, yet professional service.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor with a little balcony. We heard muffled traffic sounds in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just finished a hectic business trip in Santa Barbara, and the Canary was a true haven at the end of the day. Hands down, the staff here was the most pleasant I have ever encountered. Helpful, down-to-earth, funny, courteous - they made me feel like a guest in their home! As far as features, the hotel has a rooftop pool with amazing views. My, room was great with a four-poster bed and interesting tile. Hope to stay again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only stayed here two nights but had a great time. We stayed at 5 hotels during our honeymoon and this was the only one that made the effort to put a bottle of bubbly and a nice note in the room. It was good of them to make an effort for us to make it feel a little bit special. The room was small but very luxurious and the bed was super comfy. The rooftop pool was nice but unfortunately too crowded and we never got to hang out there which was a shame. The bar and restaurant were also very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank u34sm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location is unbeatable, literally around the corner from the lovely shops and restaurants of State State and downtown Santa Barbara.

Staff is incredibly gracious and friendly. Free wine happy hour is cool if you are around.

Rooms are gorgeous, light-filled and well designed. Our king bed was sumptuous, the canopy really made you feel like you were somewhere special. Windows actually open so you can enjoy a breeze, our balcony was actually large enough to sit outside.

Rooftop pool, fireplace and hotub. Beautiful place to enjoy the sunset, never really super crowded. Other hotel guests andt their kids here are well behaved as opposed to going to a lowerpriced value accommodation."

Only a couple Mehs, but they are so minor:
-Bathroom doors are not solid-they are shutter doors so you need to turn on the radio if you are on a romantic weekend getaway. Ahem.

-Housekeeping didn't make up our $575 a night room even though we were out from 10am to 6pm. Perhaps the mgt might consider providing 'please make up room' door signs. Current door signs are only "do not disturb"

-Finch and Fork restaurant. Setting is nice and convenient, but our Server was charmless, slow or unmotivated. Didn't ruin our evening, but the $30 mains and the sad service are not worth it. I recommend you Yelp something and eat out somewhere lively just a block or two away.

Definitely worth checking out in Santa Barbara though for sure.

Room Tip: Corner suites are worth the extra cash for a balcony you can actually sit on and lightfilled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bangalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! Staff can't do enough for you, they were fab. Bell boys were really attentive with lots of advice on where to go, what to do etc! The pool and view is out of this world, one everybody needs to see! Had a lovely boutiquey feel to the place....especially liked the free wine tasting every evening! The location is brilliant and handy for everything. NO faults!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want to stay in a nice hotel in Santa Barbara, this is worth looking at. Very comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, the best roof terrace and swimming pool. Breakfast isn't included but there's plenty of places on State Street to grab a breakfast and the valet parking was convenient, it does cost $25 a day but this is the centre of Santa Barbara so to be expected. They could provide coffee and tea making facilities in the room but this was on tap in reception most of the time of our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing