We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After eight hours of driving we arrived in Santa Barbara to discover the wine bottles we had transported all the way from the Napa Valley had broken all over our luggage. Needless to say, tempers were frayed and our honeymoon period was beginning to feel like it was coming to a premature end. However, this all changed as soon as we stepped through the door of the Canary Hotel.

The friendly lady on reception greeted us with a warm smile and wished us congratulations and a happy honeymoon and informed us they had upgraded our room. She then went on to inform us that as Kimpton InTouch members (free to sign up) we were entitled to a $10 mini bar voucher and free Wi-Fi. They normally put on a complementary wine hour which we had unfortunately missed so here were two more vouchers for drinks in the hotel bar.

We were feeling much more like happy newly weds as we made our way up to the room. As we stepped through the door, we found a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us as well as a sweet note from the hotel congratulating us again on our marriage. I then proceeded to joyously bound about the room taking in all the little details: corner room with balcony, beautiful hardwood floors, giant four-poster bed with a step to help you climb up, fluffy robes, fabulous bathroom including a TV over the sink... the list goes on.

After quickly unpacking, we made our way up to the roof terrace where we found a lovely little pool and hot tub as well as outdoor fireplace and an abundance of comfortable seating. The candles dotted around and the incredible views of the surrounding mountains gave the whole place a magical feel.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough, the location is great - near the shops and lively bars and restaurants on State Street but just far enough way to provide peace and quiet when you need it. The rooms are spotlessly clean and decorated beautifully, the staff warm and friendly and the facilities such as the pool and bar/restaurant are some of the best I've come across in a hotel. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lklc200713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well what can I say.... Amazing, special, attentive, memorable, luxurious.
The hotel staff were so kind and so attentive, this was a last trip before our 1st baby arrives and the hotel had milk (in champagne flutes) and cookies awaiting our arrival - so thoughtful!! We were upgraded to a suite which made the whole baby moon even more luxurious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for attentive service, great location in SB but also the relaxed luxury of a smaller boutique hotel. The only 1 thing I could offer as an improvement suggestion would be a tea/coffee machine in the room. Otherwise all top notch!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank anon190763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Canary is an older hotel, fluffed up (a little) and rebranded by Kimpton. My "superior" guest room was absurdly expensive for what it was, tiny (although big enough for two chairs plus the bed) and offered a view of a gas station which featured bright lights at night. A broken lamp was not fixed 24 hours after desk was notified. Breakfast in the hotel cafe was poor. On the plus side, staff was Kimpton-cheerful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhirledTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We loved the Canary and booked this hotel based on TA reviews. Everyone from the bellman, front desk and management were just lovely. We had a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed (very high up!) and all the little touches are very quirky. I won't ruin them but it's definitely an interesting place to stay and they go over and above to make your stay special and memorable. The rooftop pool is awesome and they give you binoculars so you have a great view of the wonderful town of Santa Barbara. The hotel itself is in a wonderful position just off of State street. We were there at a great time as it was the start of 'Fiesta' week so there were lots of celebrations going on which was fun. The Camary also has a wine hour (althoughwe had been wine tasting the day before in Paso Robles so we didn't make the most of it!) where we met great people and such a nice touch. I would 100% stay at the Canary again and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We hesitated for a long time between this hotel and the four seasons. But we finally chose to stay at the Canary for its location, right in the center of the city, and we definitely don't regret our choice! Santa Barbara is one of our favorite place in California and the Canary hotel did a great job in capturing the atmosphere of the city.

Our room was rather small for US standards but big enough for the two of us and well decorated. The bed was really confortable.
The breakfast was very good (french toasts to die for...).
The swimming pool on the rooftop is also a big plus.
So don't hesitate to stay there, specially if you don't have much time to spend in Santa Barbara.

Stay in 2011

Room Tip: Get a superior room for the separate bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Canary is an amazing location for a Santa Barbara stay. Rooftop pool and jacuzzi, lounge and seating make this a gem in the city. You have 360 degree views of the city including a picturesque view of the coast. The staff are friendly. The rooms are comfortable and modern. The amenities are good and everything is within walking distance. The in house restaurant is a nice spot for a breakfast or dinner. Definitely hit the roof and spend some time enjoying the cozy lounge chairs, pool, and view.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the second floor off the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zkrscasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a very charming hotel and has a great bar. Beds are comfortable, but bathrooms are a little small. It was nice to be able to open the windows in the room to let the fresh air in, however the noise from the street is kind of loud. You can walk to a variey of different shops and restaurants. This hotel also allows dogs, all sizes. Very cool! Although we never saw one. There's supposedly a great view on the 6th floor, however there was a private event that they weren't allowing non-guests to enter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $341 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing