We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Presidio Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
787
249
69
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
249
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolfinch and forkfour poster bedstate streetwine houroutdoor fireplacedowntown santa barbaracomplimentary winebeautiful hoteldog friendly hotelhardwood floorsvalet staffupgraded to a suiteour honeymoonshops and restaurantshot tubmorning coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the minute we pulled our car into the garage, to the bell service and front desk reception, we had 5 star service. The people who staff the facility, genuinely seem to like what they do. The rooftop lounge area and pool were a treat. Never felt crowded. The location can't be beat.

Rooms are spacious, great beds, linens and pillows...all around wonderful comfort.

Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ear-ringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Ear-ringer, your review was short, sweet and absolutely lovely as well! Thank you so much! You’re right, we absolutely love what we do here and are so glad you did too. Come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

OK, it's not only the rooftop that makes the Canary great, but it's a pretty awesome feature! A friend recommended the Fess Parker Doubletree for our stay in Santa Barbara but I thought the reviews were a little mixed so I did a little more looking and found the Canary. Perfect! Where to begin? It's in a great location just off State Street, close enough to walk to shopping, restaurants, and the beach, as well as hit the tasting rooms on the Urban Wine Trail. The staff were all very friendly. The hotel has a great Santa Barbara casual-yet-chic style. Like all Kimpton hotels, our room was small, but well-appointed and very comfortable. The four poster canopy bed isn't something you get at your average hotel, so that was kind of special and romantic. How about complimentary wine and small appetizers at Happy Hour? Yep.

Back to the rooftop...it's a gorgeous, spa-like setting with 360 degree views of Santa Barbara. With a pool, hot tub, fireplace and lots of places to lounge comfortably, you might never want to leave the rooftop. It's a great place to watch the sunset over a glass of wine. I can't wait until I can come back. Thank you Kimpton and the staff at the Canary for a special experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boulderkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Um…boulderkir=awesome should be the name of this review! WOW! Thank you so much! Your review was amazing and I am so grateful you chose us for your visit. It sounds like you had a blast creating your SB adventure and I am so happy we were a special part of it all! Thank you again and we can’t wait for you to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the privilege of staying a few nights at The Canary over the 4th of July. I cannot say enough great things about this boutique hotel. We were pleased with every aspect of this hotel, including service and accomodations. The fact that this hotel is so close to State Street makes it easy to have shops and restaurants at your fingertips. We were able to use the complimentary bikes from the hotel and ride around State Street down to the pier and along the ocean. Doesn't get much better than that! The hotel had a fun rooftop celebration where everyone could watch fireworks as well, complete with a DJ, photo booth and full bar. The daily wine hour from 5-6 was a plus as well! All in all, this hotel exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning for another stay in the future. Well done, Kimpton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jv2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Jv2008, the privilege was ours! Thanks so much for staying with us over the crazy holiday weekend and for choosing us as the place to enjoy some fireworks and fun!! Thank you as well for the wonderful review. We look forward to your return as well and hope to make more memories with you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had stayed in a Kimpton Hotel in San Francisco a couple of years ago and enjoyed the feel of the place so this got the vote when we were overnighting in Santa Barbara - it didn't disappoint.

Really friendly and efficient valet parking and bell boys - always good news after a long drive. Wonderful decor everywhere with a hint of quirkiness that seems the hallmark of this chain. Our room (double premier king) had a four poster bed and was very well equipped but perhaps a little small for a long stay. One complaint - the shower was a triumph of style over substance - looked great but was a poor performer. Despite those reservations otherwise a very nice room.

The public areas make this place - the bar and restaurant are very nice - loads of interesting artwork and features, great food too. On the roof a fantastic terrace with pool and jacuzzi - very plush sunbeds, towels etc. I relished my 'Howard Hughes' moment going up there in my leopard print trimmed hotel bathrobe - much amusement in the lift!

The location is good - right in the heart of all the bars and restaurants without being over looked or too noisy - it is right on the street but we weren't bothered by too much traffic or noise. We caught a cab to the harbour/beach but walked back - a reasonable distance but very 'do-able' if you have no mobility issues.

Great tip from the concierge was Brophy Bros restaurant in the harbour - wait for an outside table - the view and food are great.

The rooftop terrace a real 'wow' factor in the evening - with the fire lit and a view of the whole city and surrounding hills I couldn't imagine a nicer venue in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Howard Hughes – I mean martinwilliams10 – it sounds like you did your overnight trip in style!! LOVE that you took the robe for a spin and enjoyed the pool in proper lounge fashion. I would hope for nothing less! Thank you so much for all your kind words about the staff and your visit. Promise us you will come back in the near future… your robe is waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great boutique hotel. We opted for a slightly larger room than standard w king bed and liked our room very much. There is a fitness club next door and State Street is half a block away. State Street has every store you could want to shop in plus great wine tasting rooms and restaurants. The hotel is about a mile to the beach so we got our exercise while window shopping down State Street. The restaurant in the hotel, Finch and Fork, is very good. I had Lemon Ricotta Pancakes for breakfast and they were delicious. Also had a BLT w Avocado for lunch poolside. Service was great as was the very accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Lisa W, you are a woman after my own heart. Shopping down State Street is my favorite exercise too! So happy you enjoyed your time with us as well as our amazing restaurant! Come back and enjoy some shop-olympics again with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews