We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely LOVED it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently took a trip to Santa Barbara and decided to stay at the Canary Hotel so that I could walk to State Street and wouldn't have to walk far/take a cab with all of my purchases ;) I could not have asked for a better hotel!!! The front desk staff was amazing. You guys, they have a DOG that wears a bowtie and greets guests at the desk. If that doesn't seal the deal for you, I don't know what will. I was treated like a rockstar every time I walked through the lobby--the staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed and it definitely worked. They have a fabulous rooftop terrace. You have to see it to be able to fully grasp how pretty it is. Couldn't have asked for a more picturesque spot. My guest room was wonderful--really felt like a princess with the four poster bed! Loveddd the free wine every night (how could you NOT love free wine?!)--I was even able to take my wine to the rooftop terrace to drink it!

Best hotel I've stayed at in SB by far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Lynne R, you should always feel like a princess – especially when you are writing such kindnesses as these! Wow! This review is amazing. Thank you so much! And you couldn’t have described our location more perfectly: super close to amazing shopping and all the restaurants up and down State Street. But most of all, thank you so much for highlighting the team! We all love creating a warm, welcoming feel here – especially Mr. Riley with the bowtie behind the front desk. Come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our recent stay at the Canary Hotel once again exceeded our expectations. We had enjoyed a holiday stay at the hotel and enjoyed it so much, we had to return. The experience begins the moment you arrive in the portico of the hotel and are met by the valets who are most helpful, especially considering we were traveling with our dog, Archie an Australian Shepherd, so we had the dog bed and food and our bags.
We were delighted to see Eddie at the reception desk. He greeted us warmly, including our dog, and welcomed us back to the hotel. He informed us that he had an excellent suite for us, but housekeeping was just finishing the room. He invited us to enjoy complimentary cocktails on the roof top lounge by the pool.
When our suite was ready, the bellman delivered our room key to us and the luggage had been placed in the room. The suite was quite large with a separate bedroom and bathroom in addition to the living room. Bedding and furnishings are all of very high quality and we love the hardwood floors.
The amenity gift was a delicious cheese plate with local wine. We had dinner in the beautiful lobby after the restaurant manager graciously moved a table for us so our dog could join us.
The hotel is so pet friendly and always writes your dog's name on a blackboard at the front desk. Nice touch. Sometimes there is a resident dog of one of the associates.
When we returned to our room that evening, we were surprised to find champagne and fresh strawberries to celebrate one of our birthdays. Compliments of management and associates. Again, nice touch.
In addition, Kimpton is a vocal advocate for LGBT Rights.
We highly recommend Kimpton's Canary Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmmlaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Jmmlaguna, this review brought the happiest tears to my eyes. Thank you so much for not only coming back to visit after such a recent stay, but for taking the time to write such gorgeous sentiments about our team and property. We love to make our guests’ experiences special and it sounds like you (and even the adorable Archie) encountered just that! It’s all about celebrating you – and I hope we have the chance to do it again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here overall. The rooftop pool, deck, fireplace area is really what makes this place special. I would have given the this place two stars if it weren't for that... When we finally went to bed, the whole left side of our bed was wet, as if someone just hopped in after taking a bath or being in the pool, I don't know how housekeepking didn't notice this when making the bed. I should have asked for a new room but we were so tired that we just squeezed on one side of the bed instead!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hi Sean C,
First off, thank you so much for the kudos on our property. Our hotel is pretty special and we are glad you think the same! But oh my goodness, I am so sorry about the bed! I wish you would have said something in the moment so we could have moved you and allowed you to get a proper night’s sleep. Would you maybe have some time to talk and review what happened? Please either call me at 805.879.9180 or send an e-mail to caroline.dyal@canarysantabarbara.com so we can review. I would love to hear more and apologize in person! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for long weekend in Santa Barbara at Canary Hotel. Really neat Spanish style decor (in keeping with SB) really nice staff, they treated my 86 year old mother like she was their favorite guest. In the past I have stayed by the beach but how much time can you spend there? The Canary is downtown so it is easy to get to all the great restaurants and stores on State Street. And the roof top pool and jacuzzi are just too cool. Food (and staff) at restaurant are also very good. Highly recommend. Almost forgot, the Canary is dog friendly! My dog (who is bery particular) also recommends the Canary although she thinks SB needs more grass on State Street.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kip9534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Kip9534…YOU are awesome!! Thank you (and your sweet dog) so much for the spectacular shout out and glowing review! We are so glad you and the whole family had a fun visit. Hope you will come back and play again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Canary is well-located if you want a downtown location, and this older property is charming. The common areas, including a very nice roof-top pool area, are well done. Staff is friendly. However, be aware that the rooms can be very small, and bathrooms tight. We had (briefly) a "premier" room (lowest category), then a "superior" room. Both were surprisingly small and dark. The second room's window's crank was broken so we couldn't open it and there was no view. The in-room safe didn't open, which desk staff said couldn't be fixed. Burned out light (sorely needed) took two separate trips by the engineer to fix (i.e.,change the bulb). Shower was awkward. TV operation was very clumsy. No coffee in room (but free in lobby). Noise heard from next room. Very limited drawer space. In summary: despite its charm, location and friendly staff, don't count on a luxury/superior experience. Parking is $25 extra per night.

Room Tip: Avoid the premier and superior rooms which are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgbenjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear mgbenjer,
Thank you so much for writing. I’m thrilled that you found the staff friendly and the overall property charming and well done! That said, it sounds like we missed the mark on some of the basics in your room. You have given us some points to work on for sure and I do appreciate your taking the time to detail. If you would be willing, I would love to talk further about any other items you encountered during your stay. Please either call me direct at 805.879.9180 or e-mail me at caroline.dyal@canarysantabarbara.com and I would welcome the chance to review. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Canary for one night as a get away for our anniversary. This was our first time there. It was outstanding! The staff was friendly. The roof top pool was great. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite.It is well located to State Street and all the restaurants, which gives it a huge advantage over the Biltmore or Fess Parker. It is a "can't miss" hotel. We have been to Santa Barbara many times and the Canary is where we will be staying in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you so much, Scott R! YOU are fantastic! So glad you and your wife had a great visit and enjoyed your trip up the coast. Please let us know when you are ready to return. We will have your suite waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We originally booked for a two night stay, but liked the hotel so much that we extended for a third night. This is an upscale boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara which makes it perfect for those who wish to simply leave their car with the valet at check-in and not have to drive anywhere until check-out. There are great sights to see and dozens of wonderful restaurants all within two or three blocks of the hotel. It is a treat to return to the hotel in the afternoon and retire to the beautiful rooftop pool and deck area, all of which lends a resort feel to this most excellent property. Staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome during our entire stay. Special kudos to Eddie Garcia for treating us so well at reception, and to Jake D'Agostino who was exceptionally gracious. Thank you Eddie for the beautiful accommodation, and thank you Jake for your hospitality and for the amazing amenity you had delivered to our room. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumontco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dumontco, we can’t wait for you to return as well! Thank you so much for the glowing review! I am so glad you were so welcomed and well taken care of. Eddie and Jake were both a-buzz about you as well and Jake had a great time putting together that special touch for you. Sounds like a mutual admiration club here! Thank you again so much – come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $328 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing