We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Best Place to Stay IN Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Canary Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay IN Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This being my first time to Santa Barbara, we wanted to stay at a hotel IN Santa Barbara. The Canary was the perfect choice. The hotel is minutes away from shopping, sightseeing, and restaurants. As at other Kimpton properties, it is a great hotel featuring a fabulous restaurant and bar. Equal attention is given to both. The spanish style architecturel hotel features large rooms with great bathrooms, fluffy Frette robes, extremely comfortable beds, a free wine and cider happy hour in the evening, coffee in the morning and appetizers and cookies late in the afternoon.
While all the above is important, I've not yet mentioned the Canary's greatest asset..... The Staff!!
Without exception, every staff member was helpful, friendly, said good morning or evening, and went out of their way to attend to our needs. Some staff "superstars" are Eddie at the reception desk.... we had to call back and change the dates of our reservations AND HE REMEMBERED US by name! Friendly and professional barely begins to describe him. Stephanie and Brett in the restaurant and bar went above and beyond in their hospitality.
Santa Barbara has many great hotels but many are destination resorts, miles from town. If you want to stay Santa Barbara, the Canary is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Robert B,
I am so glad you chose us as your first foray into Santa Barbara! Staying within the city on your first trip is always a good choice. And it sounds like you had a blast! I absolutely agree with you, we have a beautiful, comfortable property, but it is truly our team that makes the full difference. Eddie, Stephanie & Brett are rock stars and that you remembered them by name means just as much to us! I really can’t thank you enough for taking the time to give them and our hotel & restaurant props. Come back soon! We would love to do it all again!
All my best,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    197
    58
    17
    6
See reviews for
175
490
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here in October. Loved this hotel! The rooms are extremely clean and quiet. Bedding is quite comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved the dog at the front desk.

It is in a great downtown location, walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear worldtraveler847,
Thank you so much for your review! It sounds the hotel and everyone in it treated you right – even Riley at the front desk! I really appreciate your taking the time to write about us and hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I researched many hotels in the area and finally decided on the Canary. We are haply we did. The location can't be beat - great walking to sightseeing, beach, shopping and dining. The hotel itself is beautiful - it maintains the area's Spanish architecture with a modern touch. We love the Kimpton hotels because they are each unique to the area they are in. This hotel is very well maintained, staff is super friendly and helpful and the restaurant is great! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Pcas55, we can’t wait to have you back! Thanks for taking the time to write about us. I love reading that you found the staff to be super friendly and that you found Coast to be great! As you said as well, the location can’t be beat – and what sets us apart is our Kimpton spirit and quirky touch. We are very proud of what we’ve got here and are so glad you feel the same. Thank you for choosing us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Truth be told, my last stay at the Canary wasn't a stay; it was a visit to their breakfast room on Thanksgiving day before going up the hill to visit with local (Santa Barbara) family and friends. However, I had such a great breakfast (egg white omelette with amazingly fresh vegetables -- it was the kind of dish a hotel restaurant could've just phoned in but this was note-worthy) that I felt compelled finally to write a review of my various previous stays. Long story short, this place gets it right. The people are pleasant; the design is, to my eye, smart and beautiful; everything, from the rooms themselves to the public restrooms downstairs, is spotless; the beds/linens are such that you do NOT want to get up in the morning; the amenities (free pass to the lovely next-door Spectrum gym, anyone?) are thoughtful... The Canary has just proven over the years (my husband and I have been here several times now) to be a reliable place to relax in true comfort. We actually try to stay here at least a night every Thanksgiving and were sad to have to cancel for work reasons this year (hence, the consolation prize of breakfast), but we will absolutely be back. And one day we middle-class folks will splurge and book the considerably more expensive Memorial Day! Anyway, like the review title says, "Go, Team Canary!"

Room Tip: The regular rooms can be a bit on the tight side so always try to see if you can be upgraded at chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
WOW! Can I say… go team Maranville!!
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review! You are incredibly sweet to write after especially what sounds like a perfect breakfast at Coast. That egg white omelette is pretty amazing. We are sad you didn’t get to stay with us this year but can’t thank you enough for reviewing previous visits in such a delicious way! Please consider us for next year and we will be sure to exceed your expectations once again! You can always check our Facebook page for last-minute fun deals too :)
Thanks again & Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I first stayed at The Canary Hotel a few years ago, before it was purchased by Kimpton Hotel Group. It was nice then, but it is fantastic now. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. Leave your car at the hotel and all of the restaurants, shopping and entertainment are within a few blocks - you walk everywhere. The hotel has an arrangement with the Spectrum Athletic Club located next door. You can use the athletic club whenever you want, as many times as you want, and there is no extra charge. It is a full gym and exercise club.

The lobby, hotel rooms and the rooftop patio are very nice. Clean, nicely decorated and very inviting.

But, what makes The Canary Hotel even better is the staff. They are top notch. We dealt with Front Desk Manager, Ben Wagner - he was very helpful and professional - a "real manager". The staff was always pleasant, greeting you with "hello" whenever you walk into the lobby and wishing you "a great day" whenever you are leaving for the day.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Leonard - Encinitas, California

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Leonard,
I can’t thank you enough for your glowing review! The wonderful comments you sent me personally regarding Ben’s professionalism and personal service and the overall improvements you found with the hotel were so appreciated as well. We have an incredible team here that genuinely cares about every guest that walks through our doors and I am beyond thrilled that you experienced it firsthand. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I like the Kimpton chain and was interested in trying this property. It's located just off State St. in downtown Santa Barbara with close proximity to restaurants and shopping ( Saks is next door). The staff were all pleasant and helpful.
I booked an entry level room. It had very comfortable canopy bed that was really tall, a stool for the bed, hardwood floors, desk, chair, minibar, large flat screen and a safe in the closet but no view.
The bathroom was small, the lighting was pretty poor and the counter top was really tall.. The shower head was so tall I couldn't reach it to adjust it. All a bit strange.
There's a beautiful roof top pool and reception area where a wedding was being held.
I didn't dine at the hotel restaurant but did have a drink at the bar. it was nice.
And I ordered a lox and bagel breakfast from room service.
Everyone from the valet, the front desk, bartender to concierge were very nice and helpful.
There's a wine reception each evening in the very pleasant lobby.
Overall it's a nice place but it's a couple of miles from the beach and price is a bit
steep as are most things in lovely Santa Barbara. .

Room Tip: my 4th floor, entry level room was nice and quiet but didn't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear dantex,
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review! I’m so pleased you found the staff helpful, pleasant & nice and found the accommodations to be comfortable. Yes, we are a mile from the beach which provides great shopping as you mentioned and more of a city view from the room but also allows for a gorgeous panoramic view from the rooftop! You will be happy to know, we are currently evaluating room lighting in general, so hopefully your next stay will be a little brighter. Thank you for the feedback and for coming to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is amazing. From the moment we arrived, the staff treated us so well - way beyond our expectations. The rooms are also great. You really don't feel like you are staying at a hotel, you feel like you are at the best guest room at a friends house with every amenity you can think of.

We will absolutely stay here again. Great location, within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Bessca,
Wow! Can I quote your response? “You really don't feel like you are staying at a hotel, you feel like you are at the best guest room at a friends house with every amenity you can think of” – that is music to my ears. And my new favorite quote about the hotel! We are all thrilled beyond words that you and yours had a great time here. Thank you so much for staying with us! Let's do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing