We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Canary Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$202
$161
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$357
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$208
$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
787
249
69
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
249
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolfinch and forkfour poster bedstate streetwine houroutdoor fireplacedowntown santa barbaracomplimentary winebeautiful hoteldog friendly hotelhardwood floorsvalet staffupgraded to a suiteour honeymoonshops and restaurantshot tubmorning coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose Canary over other high-end Santa Barbara hotels in part because it is a member of the Kimpton chain. It certainly is a high-quality facility in a fabulous location, but it only recently joined Kimpton and still has a way to go before getting fully up to what I view as Kimpton standards.

First, the good. As already noted, the location is great! The facilities are spotlessly clean, and the canopy bed in our room was both beautiful and supremely comfortable. The room was a bit cramped, but adequate in size.

Our first disappointment was that the members of the staff, while very friendly, simply did not seem able to be as helpful as they perhaps wanted to be. They were very short on information. I suspect it is a generally inexperienced staff, and improvement will come with experience.

Perhaps our biggest complaint was with the in-room lighting. The light both in the bedroom and the bath was simply inadequate. I will admit that lighting is a pet complaint of ours, but I am continually mystified that hotels, especially expensive hotels like Canary, fail to understand that lights are for the primary purpose of allowing people to see.

As my wife was quick to point out, they also came up short on some of the decor. In particular, we were amazed that they could have possibly chosen that particular wallpaper to go with the lovely tile work in the bathroom. Both the style and the color failed to match, or even blend. Perhaps that's a nit-picking point, but it is after all a rather expensive facility.

That all said, were we returning to Santa Barbara, we would probably return to Canary because of the location. And, I feel confident that, given more time, Kimpton will iron out the wrinkles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Ronald G,
First off, thank you for all the kind words – both about The Canary and Kimpton! You are right, our location and facilities are wonderfully situated in the middle of the action as well as clean & comfortable – especially our beautiful canopy beds! While I am grateful for the compliments, I am sorry you experienced our growing pains and so appreciate the optimism for change and our opportunities to grow here. Our team is especially friendly and indeed still learning a bit so their true personalities and “Kimpton-ness” will show through in time. You will also be happy to know that our design team has already been hard at work here and we have some new installations to enhance both design and lighting so you will have to come visit us again to see all we are up to! So again, thank you for the feedback and the confidence. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All my best,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at The Canary Hotel as part of trip from San Fransico to Los Angeles - and completely loved it. It's right in the centre of Santa Barbara, close to everything - but the real enjoyment is in the detail.

The staff are friendly and welcoming: there's free wine in the lobby every evening (hurrah!) and there are free gym passes for all guests to next door's Spectrum (more Average Joe's than Global Gym for Dodgeball fans).

But this is a hotel where we wanted to touch everything and pick everything up, such is the attention to detail. The fabulous Spanish/US design combination is complemented by tiny touches: a plastic frog to play with in the bath: funky zebra-striped bath robes: a yoga mat and yoga DVD in the closet: beautiful mirrors in the hall and some lovely art in the bedrooms.

But the real joy is the rooftop terrace. Sitting up here with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the Santa Ynez mountains was one of the standout moments of the trip. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 416 was absolutely lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Trainers1,
We are so glad you had such a lovely time here at the Canary! We really have a great time coming up with the little details that make a big difference and I am thrilled that you loved them as much as we do. As you found out, fun and balance are both important to us too, so I’m glad you took advantage of the yoga and fitness opportunities next door as well the wine hour! Capped off by a gorgeous rooftop sunset? It really doesn’t get any better than that. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. I hope we get to see you again soon!
Best,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just spent a couple of days at this wonderful hotel. As you walk though the door you are greeted by the most friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you. I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel with friendlier staff. The rooms are beautiful as are all the common parts of the hotel. The rooftop pool is gorgeous and the sunbeds are so comfortable.
Breakfast too was lovely, this hotel is a real gem!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Melissa1611,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Our team takes pride in taking care and connecting with our guests and I am so glad you felt the love! We are incredibly fortunate to have the perfect combination of a great team, beautiful hotel and restaurant and gorgeous views. So glad you enjoyed it! Can't wait to have you back!
All my best,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to Santa Barbara with two 'girlfriends' for a get-a-way. We picked the Canary Hotel because it's a Kimpton and it's location. The hotel is located right in the middle of the wonderful State Street shopping area! We arrived to a most welcoming staff who couldn't have been kinder. As our rooms were not ready (we were early) they recommended we have lunch up on the roof where we could enjoy the 360 degree view of Santa Barbara. We ordered our lunch in their restaurant and went up top to enjoy the sun and view. Spectacular and the food was wonderful. Our rooms were lovely with four poster beds, beautiful ammenities such as a warm robe, slippers, turn down service - and the most comfortable hotel! I especially want to compliment David who was our bellman. He was charming, helpful and very kind. He's a wonderful young man and the represents the hotel in a most gracious way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi there San_DiegoJoan,

It was such a treat having you and your girlfriends stay with us. From the moment you checked in we could tell you were here to enjoy everything we could offer to you and I am glad to see you took full advantage! Thank you for the kudos regarding David as well! It is our employees who go above and beyond that truly make a difference. We hope to see you and the rest of the ladies the next time you decide on getting away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived, this place exceeded any and every expectation. Parents were upgraded to a suite as a birthday treat and even got cakes! We were lucky to arrive on the last wine tasting evening of the season, which was on the roof top terrace. What a superb sophisticated evening to set off our stay.
The bedrooms were beautiful. I'm not sure the pictures even do them justice.
We got to use the free bikes to ride around SB - great fun.
Any and every staff member encountered genuinely behaved with care and service was exceptional.
I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: There can't be any bad rooms at this hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi handif,

We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience with us. I am sure the cupcakes from one of our local faves didn't hurt but it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time. It is memories like yours that we take great pride in creating. Thank you so much for the phenomenal review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews