We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, ideal location”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is in a gorgeous building. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are the same. Decorations are spanish colonial, luxurious. We've stayed a few nights a number of times and booked the mid-sized king room. Any smaller would be too small.

Staff is friendly and accommodating. They have water, lemonade/punch in the daytime, wine in the evening. A nice lively bar.

The location is perfect for strolling around the center of SB. You can walk to the beach easily from the hotel as well.

There is no better hotel to stay at in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: We had great success with mid-size king rooms. Make sure you have a window facing SB and the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review BobRobs!

We are extremely grateful for the kind words and love that our hard work has proved to make your trip to Santa Barbara an amazing one. Our staff loves to hear how much our guests enjoy staying with us and this is the perfect example of what we like to hear.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    223
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
204
562
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed at a few other Kimptons for business. This time we traveled with our family during a vacation. It was a quick one-night stay on our way down the coast.

The staff are young, energetic, and helpful, from valet parking to check-out. We arrived after the complementary wine hour, so were given coupons for free drinks to use in the restaurant - a nice touch I haven't seen anywhere else.

The rooms were great, with two exceptions: one, there is no sheet, just a wraparound cover for the duvet, which requires keeping the room ice-cold so you don't sweat to death; and two, there is no "noise privacy" with the shutter-like bathroom doors. This isn't limited to this Kimpton, or a lot of other new upscale hotels, and I really don't get it - why would I want my traveling companions to hear me in the bathroom?! Other than that, comfy bed, great southern California decor, and enough room in our room with two queen beds for us and our son.

The restaurant was perfectly fine. I was surprised that there were so few people eating there, given that the hotel was full. Perhaps it was due to the proximity of so many other options outside the hotel.

One complaint about service: I booked two rooms four months in advance and expressly noted on the reservations for each that I was booking two rooms and wanted them close together. The only rooms available were on two separate floors. Not a big deal, since it was just one night and our other kids are college age, but a trifle annoying and would have been problematic if they were younger.

Overall, I'd certainly stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megapax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Megapax,

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on the property! Being a brand new member to the Kimpton family, it is great to hear we are maintaining the standards you seek when staying at one of our hotels. All of your feedback is much appreciated and I apologize for the shortfalls but am glad to hear your stay overall went well, you should only expect it to get better the next time you stay with us.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I leave relatively close, but my girlfriend lives in Ontario, Canada, so we often spend a day or two in Santa Barbara when she is in town. We've stayed at the Canary twice and absolutely love it. Its a bit on the pricey side, but might be the nicest hotel overall anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1120A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Grretings from Santa Barbara N1120A!

We are blushing at the compliment of being called "maybe the nicest hotel overall anywhere"! That is fantastic to hear and we are so happy our staff could make your trips to Santa Barbara to meet up with your girlfriend as memorable as possible. We look forward to treating you to the same level of service as always the next time you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you like Kimpton Hotels, you will like Canary in downtown Santa Barbara, California.The name is inspired by the island...not the bird! Great location. Creative design. Great service, the staff can't do enough for you and always with a smile. Comfortable rooms, a bed with Frette sheets, lovely amenities in the bathroom, really fun bathrobes. What could be better? There is parking on sight, a spa, and a roof pool and terrace with drop dead views.There are gym privileges near by. You can walk to just about anywhere. Every morning there is complimentary coffee in the reception area and every afternoon complimentary wine which you can enjoy either there or the roof terrace. A new chef was scheduled to start several weeks after we were guests. Unfortunately our timing was off to enjoy the new restaurant but having dined in many o Kimpton in house restaurants in other cities I am confident this will not disappoint once it's up and running. We look forward to a return visit to the hotel and to trying out the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoJCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi SanDiegoJCU,

We love hearing that your experience reminded you of other Kimpton Hotels and as the newest kid on the block with the company it means alot! We love being a part of Kimpton and the fact the company ranks as one of Fortune Magazine's 100 best companies to work for (#16 actually) and it is great to hear that it shows in the smiles on the staff.

We hope to see you again soon so that you can try what Chef James is showcasing!

Thanks again for feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister, two daughters and I stayed one night for a girl's birthday celebration in Santa Barbara. It was our first visit to the area and I got the hotel recommendation from trip adivisor. We booked one room with 2 queen beds. It was a little tight, but generally very comfortable.
The gal at the front desk welcomed us warmly. We enjoyed our room....just lovely. We took our wine to the rooftop deck...just breathtaking. I recommend this hotel to everyone...it exceeded our expectations in every way.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cowpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Cowpokes!

Wow! That is great to hear that we could deliver an experience that exceeded your expectations. This is what we strive to do with every guest that stays with us and we are pleased to receive your review. The rooftop is an amazing location and certainly unparalleled in Santa Barbara as far as the setting. We hope to have you back soon for some great wine, amazing views and a weekend to remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

First trip to Santa Barbara. This is our second night and I'm definitely pleased with the hotel. One more night tomorrow. I hope I'm not speaking too soon.

Location is great, right next to State street, which is where you want to be. The hotel has a quaint feel and the rooms are nice. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows are too soft for me (my wife loves them though). If you like a firm pillow, bring your own.

They put coffee out in the morning and always have ice cold water set out in the lobby. I liked that.

A couple other picky negatives: the water pressure of the shower is really lacking. The shower head itself is a very awesome gadget, but no pressure, just a underwhelming trickle. The shower is an important part of my hotel experience so it is kind of a bummer for me.

The other thing is that there is no soda vending machine in the entire building. You are forced to drink their overpriced sodas in the room refridgerator (I forgot to buy drinks and bring them up to the room).

Oh, and the water didn't drain properly in the shower. When I mentioned it to the front desk at check out, they offered to pay our parking which I thought was a very nice gesture. That was a classy move to compensate for that. We will be back. Thank you Canary.

Overall, an enjoyable hotel. The staff does try hard to please their guests.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darien2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Darien2011,

I hope the rest of your stay went as well as the beginning! The next time you are here please let us know your pillow preference and we will be happy to replace them with foam pillows which are a little more firm. We always want to make sure our guests have the best possible experience and if you let us know about any shortcomings in service or product during your stay we will absolutely do anything we can do to ensure it gets fixed. Thanks for recognizing our "can do" attitude, we love hearing that!

Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Canary Hotel was surprisingly luxurious. It's got some California charm, great rooms, and a beautiful roof with a pool, hot tub, and sitting areas. We actually had our drinks and food from happy hour brought up to the roof for us. The location is perfect, as it's right near the best restaurants and shops in town. It's a little bit of a walk to the beach, but nothing crazy. There's a gym next door, and hotel guests get free entry. The bathroom in our room was huge, and the bedroom was separate from the living area. At the bar, try the salmon tartar sliders.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27sam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy W, Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Greetings 27sam27!

We are happy to hear that you experienced the unexpected in a good way! The hotel is lovely and our staff aims to please at all times, we love it when a plan comes together. :-)

On a side note, if you like the salmon tartar sliders you should try the ahi tuna salad the next time you are here! Chef James is just introducing this dish and it is fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,002 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
559 reviews
3.5 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing