We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great feel, helpful staff, great local.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Avalon, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great feel, helpful staff, great local.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed here midweek and can recommend it as a very classic boutique Santa Barbara style with helpful service. Love the views from the rooftop pool!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    216
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
200
554
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Me and partner stayed at the Canary last month, my partner has stayed there many times before and it was my first time, i was excited to visit i've heard great things about it. We were disappointed. Firstly there was no one at the front of the hotel to park our car, the mini bar in the room was unplugged - so everything was warm, the four poster bed was missing the top as there was a random beam running through the middle of the room and there were cobwebs on the ceiling. We rang the receptionist to ask if we could move rooms and she was almost rude in her tone and offered no help at all. The disappointing experience continued when there were no cups at the water machine next to the pool and some people (who were visiting a guest of the hotel) were very loud all afternoon at the pool so ruined the relaxing experience we were trying to have. In addition I am not impressed that in a hotel of this standard you have to pay for the internet.

In fairness the facilities and location are perfect, the breakfast is amazing and it's great that guests can use of the gym next door. Also the manager was friendly and left a bottle of wine in our room to apologise for the room issues. But overall it was not how we thought it would be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Sophie L., I am so sorry it sounds like we really blew it on your recent visit! We always strive to make every experience wonderful and I do apologize that this was not the case during your stay. I hope you will give us another chance in the future as I can assure you this is an isolated case. Best wishes, Laura M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location. It's right off of State St., and it's a short walk to the beach. The rooms are nicely updated and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and attentive. And the rooftop pool offers a great view of Santa Barbara. It's a perfect location for a breakfast coffee, sunny afternoon, or an after dinner drink.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dspilatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

we were there with some friends for a happy hour the week before this hotel w sold to the new chain. they did not have any good brand of alcohol, the ambience was terrible and we ended up ordering beers ( they brought them warm) water (they brought a pellegrino water without asking) and calamari ( small plate, uses and bad oil)
the restaurant donwstairs need an urgent remodel and please get rid of those salt shakers from your grandma house

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyinba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Lucyinba,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience in Coast Restaurant several weeks ago. As you can imagine we take comments like this very seriously and will make sure we take the appropriate measures to ensure these issues are corrected. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just enjoyed a good stay with the Hotel. I strongly suggest requesting a room on the top floor. The hotel needs more soundproofing. If you are a light sleeper then you may be dissappointed. The roof top pool and deck are awesome. Hotel needs to extend weekend hours up on the 6th floor. Security a little over reaching if you are not out by 11 pm. Room service was good but forgot some of our order. Overall great location and staff are very nice!

Room Tip: You must get a corner room on top floor. There is a noise issue with lower level rooms. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollywood262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear hollywood262,

Thanks so much for your comments. So glad you found our hotel to be a good value and enjoyed your visit! Best Wishes, Laura M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice location and very nice property overall. Service was good, as was the food, and it is easy to walk everywhere. Rooftop is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngalt_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Located in the center of town, this botique hotel offers luxury in a town renowned for over the top beauty. Even though it's hard to compete with the natural surroundings and vibrant town, this hotel provides a memorable experience. A friendly professional reception leads to beautifully appointed rooms. The pool terrace on the roof provides 360 views of the town, ocean and mountains. At sunset, with a fire in the fireplace, it is close to heaven. This place lives up to its five star rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topnotch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear topnotch_10,

What a super review! Thanks so much! I am really pleased to see you returned and had a great experience! Best wishes, Laura M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
553 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Property: Kimpton Canary Hotel
Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing