We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Had a two day stay after receiving an email about this venues conversion to a Kimpton. We are fans of the Kimptons, so off we went. Location is great - right in the middle of all the downtown action - easy walking. The hotel itself is still working out all the bugs that will make it a Kimpton. Hubby booked a room with balcony and we brought a bottle of wine to enjoy on said balcony. They failed to tell us that it is actually a large window that is made to look like a balcony - it opens, but that is it - hubby paid extra for this. Room is beautiful - bed is fantastic, bathroom lovely. Make sure to keep your door latched even when you are in the room. We heard two quick knocks and the door unlocked and someone was in the room for turndown service - good thing I had clothes on! They have a beautiful, if under utilized roof patio with a lovely views of the whole area. If you wish to have a coctail there you must either go to the bar and bring it with you in the elevator or find someone on the roof to call down for room service to bring it up to you - weird and pricey if it comes from room service - another reason to bring up that nice bottle you just bought from the vinery you visited with you when you go up!
I would skip the restaurant - had breakfast there both mornings and cannot recommend it unless you order granola like I did the second morning - that was good -
The gentlemen at the door when you arrive are first rate. They not only greet you by name but make you feel very welcome, and are a wealth of great info on where to eat and day trips. Jordan recommended Brophy's for dinner as a local hangout and it was so good we ate there both nights! He also mapped out a day trip of places to see and wineries and we had a blast! Bridlewood winery is not to be missed - so beautiful and we would've never found it had Jordan not told us about it- Front desk could learn a lot from these gentlemen
I hope that given a little time that the management can work out the little issues that were apparent there and it should morph into a very cool place to stay in no time

Room Tip: we were in 515 and it was quiet and very close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear ;uvstogo,

Thanks so much for your honest feedback! Great, Good, Bad and otherwise it is all very helpful and we will work on the little things to make your next stay the best it can be! Best wishes, Laura McIver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Canary is a class act property with really nice rooms. The location is super, right in the prime mix of things. The front desk could do a little better job to make you feel welcome back rather than just "show me your credit card". How about... "welcome back Mr. Silvestri"? The rooftop pool is really nice. The restaurant at the property is great. We will return and maybe they will the front desk up to the standards of the rest of the property.
www.KenSilvestri.com

Room Tip: Ask to see a couple rooms on the higher floors. You can peek an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenTammyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary S, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Mr. Silvestri,

I am so glad to see that your overall experience at Canary was great! I will definitely use your comments regarding the welcome as a training tool with our team. Next time we hope you see a difference! Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Santa Barbara- you can walk all over the place from here. As you enter, there is a casual California atrium that was always buzzing each time I came and left. My room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The bathroom was small, but functional. My only complaint is that you have to use a step stool to climb into the bed (which WAS very comfortable.) I guess they were going for a "style" or design with the four poster bed, but because I frequently get up during the night, having to be conscious of the wooden stool and aiming for it in the dark was not ideal. There is a very nice pool and lounge area on the roof. I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LASGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent only one night at the Canary during our honeymoon, but the stay was unforgettable. The decor of the hotel rooms is truly a dream and something we hope to replicate in our own home. Right off the main drag of the town, some of SB's best restaurants are a mere walking distance away and you're able to get a real bird's eye view of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gracia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Located 3 blocks from the Granada Theatre, 4 blocks from the Arlington, 3 blocks from the Lobero Theatre the Canary hotel is perfectly positioned for Concert, Opera and Theatergoers visiting Santa Barbara. It is also within a few blocks of many fine restaurants, The Art Museum and upscale shopping.

The hotel is beautifully restored from the 20's with plenty of tile and wrought Iron in the lobby and public spaces. There is a roof top area with a spa and swimming pool and views over the city to the mountains although there was no food or bar service when we were there in March. There is a welcoming and comfortable bar with local beer on tap and a good selection of wines, many from the Santa Barbara area.

The rooms are stylish, up to date and clean with large bathrooms, shower/tub combinations, in room safe's, refrigerator. Our room was called a Junior Suite and had a comfortable canopy topped bed, a writing desk, sofa and coffee table, enough chairs, wide screen television. It was competitive with most upscale hotel room I've been in.

I'm told there are various size rooms at various price points, which change depending upon the season and demand. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voxpopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great hotel for several reasons. Extremely clean with a Big comfy king size bed that you need a step stool to get into if you are height challenged, plenty of pillows. Room was spacious enough for 2 people decorated beautifully and the bathroom was a good normal size with a great shower head.
The bar seemed to always be a happening place. Food, drinks and service were always great.
The hotel is in an excellent location, if you enjoy walking it's only about a mile from the beach and everything else like shopping and restaurants are extremely close in proximity.
The roof top views are spectacular, the patio up there is very spacious with plenty of seating and it also has a great pool and hot tub area.

Room Tip: Are room was facing a Shell gas station, but it was never noisy, unless you opened the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4everTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first trip with our new baby and our St. Bernard, and it could not have been nicer and more comfortable, and right in the center of town so easy to stroll around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,060 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $334 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing