We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great hotel for several reasons. Extremely clean with a Big comfy king size bed that you need a step stool to get into if you are height challenged, plenty of pillows. Room was spacious enough for 2 people decorated beautifully and the bathroom was a good normal size with a great shower head.
The bar seemed to always be a happening place. Food, drinks and service were always great.
The hotel is in an excellent location, if you enjoy walking it's only about a mile from the beach and everything else like shopping and restaurants are extremely close in proximity.
The roof top views are spectacular, the patio up there is very spacious with plenty of seating and it also has a great pool and hot tub area.

Room Tip: Are room was facing a Shell gas station, but it was never noisy, unless you opened the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4everTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first trip with our new baby and our St. Bernard, and it could not have been nicer and more comfortable, and right in the center of town so easy to stroll around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Very beautiful hotel, room was spotless. Service was not worth the high price for the room:
* waiting in lounge area over half hour for any service what so ever and we had an infant with us!
* ordered over priced, over cooked room service that was wrong. Had to call back to get it remedied.
* had 3 different people knock on the door from the hotel before 10 am, while baby was napping. One was asking if they could take our dirty dishes, next was wrong room and third was to see if we needed help taking our luggage down. Seriously??!
* didn't have condiments for in room room service. 2 peppers, no salt wrong silverware.
Just so frustrating when we paid high dollar for a nice place. The details matter and it makes us feel like our money was wasted.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aminalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josep Mª F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank amanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank KasiaAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank carlosdiegoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaryGM-RParker, General Manager at Kimpton Canary Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Canary Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3212 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $322 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Canary Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing