We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Restaurant, great location”

Moby Dick Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 529 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok Restaurant, great location”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had dinner at Moby Dick's. We had crab cakes for appetizer and they were delicious.
Main courses were Shrimp & Crab salad, steak and chicken. All were very good.
Service was very good, but the restaurant was quite noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    229
    148
    64
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You pay for the view not the food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very average food and service is just average if not a bit below. You are paying for the view. Better value in the many restaurants on State Street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Avoid the lobster bisque!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ordered from the to-go menu so maybe the food they give you for that isn't what they serve in the restaurant, but still . . . We orderded the fish and chips, the fish was so-so but the fries were the good coated crunchy kind. We also ordered the clam chowder and the lobster bisque. The chowder was okay but the bisque was so bad I took one spoonful and couldn't even try a second spoonful. It tasted like week old fish. Bleh!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lvziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Salads are not made fresh, but pre-made and stored in the refrigerator where the leaves wilt and turn brown (think "Denny's). Literally two minutes after our salads were put in front of us on a small table for two the entrees appeared and the waiter that brought the food looked at us expectantly - asking-where should I put these? Really? I am not sure....maybe bring us another table or time the food prep accurately....just too overpriced for what we got---the food was not good, pasta was way overcooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SliderSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SeaFood on the wharf”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant is on the wharf. It has indoor and some outdoor seating. You can see the boats coming and going in the harbor. We chose to sit outside as I had my granddaughter with me. The service was excellent. I had the scallops and shrimp with chips (fries). It was all very good. The scallops were too hot at first. My son had the swordfish. He said it was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyKathy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing