We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 30, 2009

First mistake, didn't do my homework and booked without checking Trip Advisor! There is no air conditioning and we arrived late at night during a heat wave. The room had been closed up all day and was very hot and stuffy. If it hadn't been so late we would have left. Besides the air conditioning the room was dirty, smelled very bad and had broken lamps. I would never recommend this hotel. Also, there is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Beachside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 973 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

I believe the hotel should have disclosed to me that they did not have air conditioning as I was arriving in the middle of a heat wave. As it happened, I did not get there until late evening and had no choice but to stay. I would never go back and will be sure all my friends are aware of this. I opened the window as it was so terribly hot in the room, but street noise was substantial, making sleep impossible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank jal4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Our room was not air conditioned, unventilated, very noisy, as you had to leave the small windows open. The rug was stained beyond repair, not that I think an effort was ever made
to clean it.
The staff was quite friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthportTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Since I came to Santa Barbara during Fiesta Days, the location of this hotel was ideal. We could see the parade from our balcony. The pool was great, but the rooms are just ok. There is no air conditioning, so you must sleep with the doors open which leads to alot of street noise. Also, the front desk staff is rude and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My gf and i had such a wonderful stay here. The room was spectacular and clean. We loved the location and surroundings. The pool was the warmest we have ever had in sb! Each and every person we came to contact with was friendly and helpful! We highly recommend this beautiful property.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PismoTravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

A motorcycle or ambulance went by every minute. this is not an exageration. The rooms that face Cabrillo are uninhabitable due to the noise. We tried to take a nap and let the ocean breeze blow in and at one point my wife jumped out of bed from a motorcycle going by.

Also the hot water would not come on and then it would scorc h you after ten minutes.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank mawinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

All along our trip in America we have stayed at Best Western hotels where we could, and this one was no different to the others. We turned up without a booking and were given a great rate. Staff were courteous and helpful (we just happened to be driving through when the bush fires were happening) and the room was clean and full of amenities.

Coming from Australia having free internet access to talk to friends and family was excellent. The location right on the beach front was lovely and great for our morning walk.

We were a little confused about the free breakfast and found out too late that it was provided by a cafe down the street. We went there anyway and the food was great, so I would imagin having it for free would have been icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indi_Sahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $191 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing