We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old expensive but clean”

Best Western Beachside Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Old expensive but clean”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

First, lodging in Santa Barbara is expensive but $280 for a so so suite was crazy. The place is close to the main area on the water. The breakfast was your standard hotel stuff. Coffee was horrible.
Spend a bit more and stay at a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi SNdovale,
Sorry you were under whelmed with the experience here. Most are not. We do have a bit of an older hotel however, just FYI I've just recently received approval for some major upgrades and renovations to begin in the near future. As for price, we are pretty much on par with everyone of our competitors, so to receive something much nicer would entail a price jump of $150.00- $200.00 per night just to clarify. Just wanting you to understand the market nature down here on the beach on Santa Barbara. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and again sorry for the impression we didn't make on you that we attempted to make..

Please try again and contact me directly...

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    357
    152
    51
    37
See reviews for
329
372
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Terrific location across from the harbor. 5-10 minute walk to State Street and Stearns Wharf or Shoreline Cafe; five minute walk to famous Brophy Bros seafood bar and restaurant. Room was large; wifi very fast. Breakfast surprisingly bountiful (compared to the other 14 BWs I have visited). Couteous, helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lbpj3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
WOW!! Thanks guys!!
Even compared to 14 other BW's that's a powerful statement immensely appreciated. We love our jobs so I guess it shows a little bit :) Come visit whenever you like and hope to see you soon!

All the best

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

When booking on line for a week-long visit, you are never sure what you'll get and could be dissappointed, but we were delighted to find Best Western Beachside Inn to be perfect for us in so many ways.1) the exceptional location- on the beautiful beach and in walking distance to so many wonderful sites, downtown. 2) our updated and quiet room (comfortable and modern bed) was not large but fine for us, plus in-room fridge and microwave, and complimentary breakfast/ all day coffee service. 3) convienient on site parking. 4) Good service. 5) Good well-heated pool. It must be said, it is otherwise a modest motel in style and "of an era". But if you are interested in keeping costs down without compromise of comfort and convenience, I would recommend this motel without doubt. The manager and staff were always available, friendly and very helpful. I have no complaints and I am a major fusspot. Even the bathroom had a sunny window (women understand this point- natural light for makeup)!

Room Tip: our room was top floor, not on road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitabenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Anita Benita,
We have a job for you now. How about joining our marketing team. You hit so many of our easy to sell points right on the head. You were perfect. Thanks for being such a great fan of ours!!
We'll see you next time I'm sure...

All the best!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

After a long flight from the east coast, we arrived at the hotel around midnight, to find the desk staff waiting up for us with cookies and hot coffee. Our check-in was quick and they allowed us to keep the car in the registration spot overnight since it was so late. Our room was spacious and extremely clean, with a deck overlooking the park and ocean. The complementary breakfast was perfect, a hot omelet, fresh fruit and juice. It was the perfect stay, I wish we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarribbeanQueen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Ms. Queen,
Thanks for the kind words and glad you enjoyed the cookies as well. They are here every day just adding a little something to sweeten up the day. We'll see you next time and we'll keep you here even longer..We promise..

Thanks HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My beachside room was clean and quiet. Wifi was reliable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking was a bonus since you can walk to Stearns Wharf and State St. Although there isn't a fitness center on site, the path just outside the hotel is great for running or biking. There's a small playground across the street too.

Room Tip: Views of sunrise and sunset are worth the upgrade to a beachside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001kms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
The perfect description of our little piece of heaven on the waterfront...And could you believe, we have to suffer and work here also :))) Had to write that!!!!

Thanks so much!!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed there 30 years ago, Last week and would stay there again. Loved the staff, the breakfast, and the location is super. Clost to both wharfs. Excellent trolly system, and found Santa Barbara Very Clean!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Diane,
How about if we see you in 30 days next time instead of 30 years. I think that's what I heard is happening. Say hello when you get in. Beautiful sunshine is waiting!!

All the best!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This really is right across the street from the marina and beach! A fabulous location for everything there is to do and see in Santa Barbara. We stay there every time we are in town. It's right around the corner from State St....... excellent restaurants and shopping!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank designerladyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
That's it. The place to stay!!! See you soon designerlady. Santa Barbara awaits your return!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
679 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Property: Best Western Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing