We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“check room location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Fairfax, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“check room location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice location across the street from the waterfront; walking distance to beach, pier, harbor and many restaurants.. However, check your location for noise. I was across from ice machine and it was not good. The breakfast was OK and included in the price as well as the wifi which seemed to work OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Robert,
Thanks for mentioning all the great things about us, but we are really sorry the darn ice machine disturbed you. We are actually in the process of moving our vending location to a nice secluded area where those noisy vending machines can go party in privacy and stop harassing my guests.

Sorry again....HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    331
    144
    50
    33
See reviews for
298
352
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SANTEE, CA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very satisfied with experience at this hotel. honored AAA rate as a walkin. Room was nice 1 bedroom apt, not spacoius but fine for our needs. on the beach and close to downtown. staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
My staff and I are so glad you had a good experience. Next time visiting, please ask for one of our larger harborview or parkside rooms. I'm sure we can find you a great rate when you return.

Thanks

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We love Santa Barbara - our 2nd visit (our first being in 2005). The hotel is not the most salubrious or the most glamorous or upmarket but location and price are good. We were given a harbour view room at the same reasonable rate of a standard room as we booked in for 3 nights which we then extended to 5.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with complimentary wi-fi & buffet breakfast (not the best) & very good, helpful staff. We liked our room, it had all we needed and would certainly use the hotel again. The harbour view really added to the experience especially as the weather was so sunny and warm while we were there. Although on the front with a main road running past we did not find it noisy or disturbing.

It's a good 15 to 20 minute walk to State Street where the main shops, dining & drinking establishments can be found. It is also a similar length walk to the pier but it is an enjoyable amble along the sea front - a little perturbing to see signs saying you are entering or are in a Tsunami zone!!!

The buffet breakfast had fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads, bagels etc. along with a couple of hot items which never varied - the same 2 items every morning (sausage links & cheese omelette) which to me looked unappetising but my husband appreciated them?? Each to their own .....
At least you could fill up on a breakfast which then saw us through to our dinner in the evening.

We would certainly consider returning to the hotel and we certainly hope to return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for all your kind words and most of all many, many thanks for saying you would return.
We can't ask for any better compliment than that!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for one night on our way up the coast. Got top floor room at the end; was quiet and had a nice view of the marina and Cabrillo road. Close enough to walk to the wharf and along the water or beautiful Spanish-style hotels lining the line across from the water. Fantastic dinner at the very end of the wharf (try the lobster tacos - yum!). Excellent value and great service. Everything you'd expect from a Best Western, including a very good breakfast (I supplemented what they offered with my own gluten-free options). Only thing I didn't love was the louvered (slats) bathroom doors, not complete privacy but not bad actually as there are two sets of doors and a decent fan.

Room Tip: Top floor room at the end - 322 was good. Quiet, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GForce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice words. And please know we have now added a few gluten free items to our breakfast to accommodate guests such as yourself. We're on it as always, listening to our guests on a daily basis.

Enjoy your day and many thanks!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had fabulous staff. Our rooms had stained carpet and curtains. We had a slow shower drain. Our first room, the heater, when on, smelled like urine. Staff quickly moved us to a different room. They still had to spot clean carpet before we could go in. There was a sign posted on the pool gate that if you have had diarrhea in the past 2 weeks do not use the pool. Ugh! Staff was great though!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for mentioning our fantastic staff! They are the best!! As for the other comments, they all obviously concern us greatly!!! We are constantly cleaning, shampooing, repairing and replacing numerous items on a regular basis due to our high occupancy year round. You room might have been given to you without proper preparation for which I am so sorry. Please know, we do our best every day to keep up with all the "issues" as they arise and occasionally we miss something or couldn't get to it in a timely manner. No excuses here, just the facts. Regarding the smelly heater, sorry to say we could not recreate the odor you experienced but we continue to look into it.
And lastly and most unfortunately, the State of CA. mandates the pool sign to read as it does.
It is unfortunate and distasteful, but we have no options for the time being..
Our sincerest apologies

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location, across street from harbor. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We stayed in room with harbor view and balcony, lovely sunsets. Centrally located for lots of walking. Breakfast good and included. Great restaurant next door. Had a wonderful stay. Only negative would be the bathroom. Small vanity area, tub & toilet in separate "rooms" one light/fan switch on outside wall that turned on everything all at once - lights & fan - disruptive in middle of night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Sharon,
Thanks for the kind feedback including the vanity comment. Because of guests like you, we use your feedback to make improvements always. My next big plan happens to be new bathrooms and vanities in those smaller rooms so come back soon and give me your new opinion.

All the best!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Really pleased to have a pet friendly room so close to the beach. The price was the same as the Best Western in Golita that was not pet friendly, and not on the Beach. Room was small as is an older hotel, but more than adequate. The bed was so comfortable, the decor very modern and restful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We love your pets, and they love our beach... So it's a match made in heaven..Who knew..
See you soon..I"M SURE!!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing