We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
“Great Location - Great Value”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Located across from the harbor, just a block or so from the wharf and very close to State Street and Hwy 101, this was a really great place to stay at a reasonable price for the area. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. Cookies await you in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thanks Edith,
Just spent the morning making a special Xmas eve batch of cookies AND looking at the harbor.
What a life and what a job!!! Glad you enjoyed it here.

Happy New Year!!
HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    364
    152
    51
    38
See reviews for
338
372
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Excellent value. Room was large and attractively decorated. Quiet neighborhood across the street from the beach. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good variety of breakfast items, including omelettes and sausage, presented so everything was easily accessed. The only drawback is that if you don't have a car there are not many options for dining within walking distance. The waterfront shuttle stops in front of the hotel, but it does not run in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi Virginia,
Thanks for the kind words. Based on the enormous amount of restaurants in Santa Barbara, you're right we do have a limtied selection within easy walking distance, but just to make sure you know, everything else is just 15-20 minutes walk away. Gives you a chance to walk off those amazing meals offered here on the way back to the beach.

Thanks. HJRobbins -= GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

One of the nicest places we have stayed. Staff was very attentive and polite. Clean & comfortable inside & out. The pool was spotless and the patio was very inviting. Rooms had everything you could want or need. We will definitely stay there & recommend to friends traveling to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thanks for the "OUTSTANDING" comments. We just keep doing what we do best!!!
I'll be here for a long time so see you next time guys.

Happy Holidays - HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place was basically a dive. The room was old, it smelled awful and the walls were paper thin. I thought I would save a few bucks by staying here, big mistake. I would spend a few extra dollars and find a better place. None of the hotels in Santa Barbara are really that impressive, other than being situated in a fabulous location, but for a few extra dollars you can do much better than this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi David,
I obviously read your review and it concerns me greatly. As you will see from 99% of the reviews below since I took over the hotel as Manager, things have been going very well.

Maybe not your style due to the age, but most of Santa Barbara is quite similar.
I'm really concerned and would love to discuss with you if given the opportunity.

Again, I'm sorry you were not impressed but welcome you to give us another try and mostly to discuss with you. For the record, I am pleased to say that i have been given significant funding to begin major upgrades and improvements in the near future, so maybe I could have you back after then to give me your opinion.

Happy Holidays and my sincerest apologies

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've stayed here just about every month in the past year. Every room has been comfortable and clean. The harbor view rooms are great. You just can't beat the view. The staff is marvelous, always helpful and smiling. There is a good free hot breakfast in the morning. Not made to order, but still a good start to the day.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are great, with a balcony overlooking the harbor and beach. The pool rooms can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks BeeMoe,

We love having you here and THANKS for the return visits again and again!
The harbor isn't going anywhere soon, we hope, so we will see you next time!!
Enjoy the hoildays!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Thin walls are a fatal flaw in a hotel. Great location and value can't make up for walls so thin you can hear everything being said, and more, next door. Extremely annoying to spend over $100 and have a room with no sound insulation. Don't see how they've stayed in business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Jennifer,

OUCH!! That hurts. We do deal with a few issues of having a 67 year old building, but as you'll see from our reviews below, it is not a common flaw we deal with. I can't seem to find your registration to track your room number so I can follow up. If you read this PLEASE let me know. I hope you can somehow get in touch so I can have you as a return guest to show you what you experienced is by no means typical of our GREAT hotel!! Obviously we've been in business for a long time because we CARE!!!!

All the best!!! HJRobbins -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The evening desk clerk was very accommodating. He allowed us to upgrade our room for only $10. The manager, Josh, was very friendly and was proud of his hotel and staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks Eric,

We love what we do! How could we not working on the harbor/beachfront of Santa Barbara.
So glad my staff could reflect our fun at work to you in terms of friendliness!!! Yes, it is possible to have fun at work!!!! We know it!!!!

Happy Holidays HJRobbins -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
886 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Property: Best Western Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing