We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Beachside Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Beach Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveler rating
386
389
164
55
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
389
164
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetgreat locationstate streetbest westernsharbor view roomwalking distancethe breakfast areahot breakfastfree breakfastparking feecookiesroom was spaciousnice poolgreat roomyogurtstayed longershops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stopped there last night. Room with a view of the harbour, room was ok, wi fi was terrible and couldn't keep a good signal and as this was my only means of communication it was very frustrated. Please fix this problem. Breakfast was served on paper plates and plastic knife and forks. Not the best of hotel for $200!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Batty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hello Batty,
Thanks for the feedback and sorry for the wifi issue. We typically have a great hispeed connection so it made me wonder. I thoroughly looked into it and found a possible cause. We had a high school team here for those nights putting 30 kids into 8 rooms all with mobile devices so based on reports run I'm pretty confident to say that they "Ate" up most of our bandwidth during most of their stay. No excuses but I am sorry you were in the middle of it. As for the paper goods at breakfast, virtually every Best Western in the US serves similarly so we too do as well. I fully understand however that the European and South American properties of BW might provide actual plates and silverware for breakfast.
Hoping that can explain some but no excuses are ever made here, just plain good old honesty.

All the best.

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great stay, with a clean room extra ammenities if we happened to forget something like tooth paste or shaving cream. The free breakfast was great, consisting of cheese omelettes, pork sausages, mixed fresh fruit, assorted bagels, taost and croissants along with much more. The location is one of the best features. Right across from the beach, and just down the street from State St. No need to drive anywhere. Easy walk to Stearns Wharf, which saved on parking. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Park side veiw is a good view. The Harbor view isn't anything spectacular because the Harbor isn't as close as you may think.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Nick,
Thanks for taking the ride up and tried us. Glad you enjoyed breakfast, we love feeding the weary traveler and they love it especially since its free...I'm looking at the harbor as we speak but tend to disagree just alittle bit. It's looking pretty nice from where I'm sitting actually watching a sail floating by. Pretty cool.

Next time you're up find me. I'll make sure you get a perfect view of the harbor...
Thanks...

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The outside looks small, old beach city style, but inside is great. The lobby is nice & inviting. Coffee was great for a hotel. Breakfast was nice & lots of variety. The front desk is super helpful, nice, informative, everything you would want. The rooms were REALLY nice after seeing outside with good space, all the amenities, our room face the ocean & main blvd.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Cory,
Thanks for your honesty. We love our quaint 67 year old hotel but a little nip and tuck is needed. I'm glad to see the plans are in the works and we're waiting for Santa Barbara to approve everything. Thanks for your kind words and see you next time.

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is just a quick note to say this hotel is great, clean pool, clean rooms, great location, Nick on reception very friendly, we are couple from UK and enjoyed Santa Barbara and the hotel! Would recommend and stay again :-)

Room Tip: We booked through the Hotels Tonight app and got an amazing deal, all rooms are great location
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Sarah,
And here is a quick response..THANKS so much for the kudos. Thats great that you'll recommend us to others. We can't ask for more. And by the way, we too Love the people at Hotel Tonight that created that awesome booking app. They do an amazing job for all of us.

Safe travels wherever you might be..

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

"The Best place for location and price!"
We've been visiting Santa Barbara for years and have stayed
in many different types of hotels. This is our new favorite!
The reception staff are professional, friendly, kind and very helpful.
Heidy,Josh, Zack and the rest gave the best of service.
When we came back from the beach(which takes 5 minutes to walk to)
the reception area had freshly baked chocolate chip cookies to share with everyone!
We also noticed how clean the pool and hallways were kept. All the housekeeping staff smiled were helpful. We'll be back soon and plan to spread the word to our friends and family.
THANK YOU!

Room Tip: WE were in Room 225 overlooking the pool. Very quiet and separate living room from sleeping area. 2 flat screen TVS!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi and Thanks Tony,
You have a great spot to visit up there as well in Santa Cruz, I love it.
You're kind words are awesome but I need a favor as in the words of "Old Blue Eyes" and his iconic song New York, New York..."Start Spreading the News" but not to fast or I might not be able to get you in next time, but I'll try my hardest.
And in the words of another, one of the best known TV game show hosts ever "Come on Down" and we'll squeeze you in just for being the nice guy you are..
Enjoy the day...

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews