We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We first stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and really wanted to stay here on this trip & again we were not disappointed. Fantastic location across the road from the harbour and a few minutes walk from the beach and Stearns Wharf. We arrived without a prior reservation but were given a lovely, comfortable, spotless room which overlooked the pool and was right by the quiet sunbathing terrace. The public areas are very clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful, informative and friendly . The breakfast is very good with lots of variety. The hotel is a short walk from the main downtown shopping area and restaurants. Great hotel in a perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks Mary,
Cheers to you and thanks for taking the time to share the kind words. We're glad when we can help a random guest passing through enjoy Santa Barbara. You picked the perfect spot, dead center between the pier and the harbor. Can't get much better. Do us a favor a share our secret with all your UK buddies. We'll be glad to help!
All the best!

HJRobbins GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    360
    152
    51
    37
See reviews for
332
372
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a good stay after leaving a hotel down the street that didn't have air con. The man at the desk, Mynor, was so nice to us and accommodating.it was a very convenient location.The breakfast was good, but can get a little crowded.They always helped us with directions and restaurants. They did not charge us extra for the weekends like the other hotels. There were 10 of us and we were happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigideanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We miss you guys already..Thanks so much for giving us the chance and glad we lived up to our reputation. Hope you're all back in Michigan safely and looking forward to seeing the gang again in the future. And by the way...Mynor misses you guys so much he had tears for 2 days...
Let's get ready to golf again soon!! Call us anytime and Thanks so much for your kind words!!

HJRobbins GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

great spot right across from the harbor, can walk to Stearns Wharf for great seafood. Staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for sights, restaurants. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby on our arrival! Room was large, with a balcony. Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
What can we say. We have a tough job taking care of great folks like yourself and looking at the harbor all day. Beachfront in Santa Barbara, how much better can it get? We've got great plans and upgrades scheduled for the near future, so come visit whenever you like. We'll be here waiting.

Many Thanks - HJRobbins GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago in a room on the pool area. We were happy with that room, but this time we had king room, with balcony looking at the beach, ocean, mountains! Reception by Gaby was superior. Room was spacious, modern, very comfortable, with very clean patio and furniture. Bed and sheets so comfortable. Big bathroom space, great towels and lighting. Nice buffet breakfast, constantly replenished. Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, cereals, juices, eggs, sausages, etc. Plentiful parking. Use trolley to get downtown. Walk to restaurants. Weak wifi.

Room Tip: I prefer quiet room, top floor, facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Michelle,
Thanks for choosing us and all your kind words. Long trip from Fort lauderdale so we're glad we were able to make your stay fun!!! That pesky Wi-Fi issue has been addressed as well.
Hope we don't have to wait 3 years until we see you again.
All the best and many Thanks!!!

HJRobbins GM and the "fun bunch"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

actually i wanna give a 4.5/5, the -0.5 as because of the poor internet. Except that, the location, the staff, the room, the bed are excellent!!

u do need the ocean view room with balcony, so u can enjoy more with the relax and beautiful atmosphere in santa barbara. ac works good in room and very quite with the door closed.

the restroom is spacious as well, i like the design.

parking is $3.00 per day so just park at the hotel and don't need to waste time finding a parking. the hotel location is so good that u can walk to many places.

special thanks to Nick, Josh and Gaby.

Room Tip: ocean view, ocean view, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks Guys for your awesome feedback and I have thanked the staff on your behalf. I do apologize however that you had a bit of an internet issue which a number of my guests experienced during your stay. We had some "bandwidth hogs" with us creating some issues. Too many people telling all their friends how much fun they were having at the hotel :). Regardless of the reason, I have already upped our bandwidth and we shouldn't have a repeat. Make sure to say hi next time you're back up here.

See you soon....HJRobbins GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This a quite a small hotel but well placed within easy walking distance of the harbour and sea. Next to a local park although there tends to be a few hobo's frequenting this which is common in the USA . Good parking , nice clean and spacious rooms. A nice pool area and very friendly staff. Coffee available all day with nice warm cookies in the afternoon. It is a longish walk to the main shopping area of lovely Santa Barbara but there are plentiful options of public transport or simply hiring a bike.

Rooms on 2 sides are overlooking a road but not too noisy . If you are on the front you can have a great view of the sea and harbour and also the bird life that nests in the trees and use the nearby pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you ChrisJane,
We send you big Kudos for noticing all the great small and larger things we have to offer. Our"bird sanctuary" across the street is actually a local landmark for viewing some quite rare Herons. Location, well we were all blessed being able to work harbor/beachfront in Santa Barbara so how could we not be happy which inturn hopefully reflects to all our wonderful guests. See you next time and again...MANY THANKS!!!

HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Best location directly across the street from Stearn's Wharf and Leadbetter Beach on the ocean; blocks from State Street with all of it's eclectic shopping, nice pool, yummy breakfast, nice staff. We were on the lookout for Jeff Bridges after seeing him and The Abiders in concert recently. No sighting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank designerladyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Designer Lady,
Thanks for the kind review. Location. location, location..What else can we say. By the way. I sent Jeff Bridges an email telling him you were looking for him. He said he'll be back for the Sheryl Crow Concert in September so I guess we'll be seeing you again soon.
Thanks for visiting and see you next time.

HJRobbins -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Property: Best Western Beachside Inn
Address: 336 W Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing