We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beachside Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 4, 2013

great spot right across from the harbor, can walk to Stearns Wharf for great seafood. Staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for sights, restaurants. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby on our arrival! Room was large, with a balcony. Great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

What can we say. We have a tough job taking care of great folks like yourself and looking at the harbor all day. Beachfront in Santa Barbara, how much better can it get? We've got great plans and upgrades scheduled for the near future, so come visit whenever you like. We'll be here waiting.

Many Thanks - HJRobbins GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago in a room on the pool area. We were happy with that room, but this time we had king room, with balcony looking at the beach, ocean, mountains! Reception by Gaby was superior. Room was spacious, modern, very comfortable, with very clean patio and furniture. Bed and sheets so comfortable. Big bathroom space, great towels and lighting. Nice buffet breakfast, constantly replenished. Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, cereals, juices, eggs, sausages, etc. Plentiful parking. Use trolley to get downtown. Walk to restaurants. Weak wifi.

Room Tip: I prefer quiet room, top floor, facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi Michelle,
Thanks for choosing us and all your kind words. Long trip from Fort lauderdale so we're glad we were able to make your stay fun!!! That pesky Wi-Fi issue has been addressed as well.
Hope we don't have to wait 3 years until we see you again.
All the best and many Thanks!!!

HJRobbins GM and the "fun bunch"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

actually i wanna give a 4.5/5, the -0.5 as because of the poor internet. Except that, the location, the staff, the room, the bed are excellent!!

u do need the ocean view room with balcony, so u can enjoy more with the relax and beautiful atmosphere in santa barbara. ac works good in room and very quite with the door closed.

the restroom is spacious as well, i like the design.

parking is $3.00 per day so just park at the hotel and don't need to waste time finding a parking. the hotel location is so good that u can walk to many places.

special thanks to Nick, Josh and Gaby.

Room Tip: ocean view, ocean view, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks Guys for your awesome feedback and I have thanked the staff on your behalf. I do apologize however that you had a bit of an internet issue which a number of my guests experienced during your stay. We had some "bandwidth hogs" with us creating some issues. Too many people telling all their friends how much fun they were having at the hotel :). Regardless of the reason, I have already upped our bandwidth and we shouldn't have a repeat. Make sure to say hi next time you're back up here.

See you soon....HJRobbins GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This a quite a small hotel but well placed within easy walking distance of the harbour and sea. Next to a local park although there tends to be a few hobo's frequenting this which is common in the USA . Good parking , nice clean and spacious rooms. A nice pool area and very friendly staff. Coffee available all day with nice warm cookies in the afternoon. It is a longish walk to the main shopping area of lovely Santa Barbara but there are plentiful options of public transport or simply hiring a bike.

Rooms on 2 sides are overlooking a road but not too noisy . If you are on the front you can have a great view of the sea and harbour and also the bird life that nests in the trees and use the nearby pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you ChrisJane,
We send you big Kudos for noticing all the great small and larger things we have to offer. Our"bird sanctuary" across the street is actually a local landmark for viewing some quite rare Herons. Location, well we were all blessed being able to work harbor/beachfront in Santa Barbara so how could we not be happy which inturn hopefully reflects to all our wonderful guests. See you next time and again...MANY THANKS!!!

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Best location directly across the street from Stearn's Wharf and Leadbetter Beach on the ocean; blocks from State Street with all of it's eclectic shopping, nice pool, yummy breakfast, nice staff. We were on the lookout for Jeff Bridges after seeing him and The Abiders in concert recently. No sighting!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank designerladyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Designer Lady,
Thanks for the kind review. Location. location, location..What else can we say. By the way. I sent Jeff Bridges an email telling him you were looking for him. He said he'll be back for the Sheryl Crow Concert in September so I guess we'll be seeing you again soon.
Thanks for visiting and see you next time.

HJRobbins -GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent location, great hotel, clean room, great service. Room was large, 3rd Floor Ocean view, quiet, no problems at all. This is a nice hotel, for a great price compared to the other hotels in the area, & it has a pool. I would definitely recommend. I read user reviews before I booked & I was not sure, but it was perfect, no noise, no problems, perfect, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Kathy,
Thanks for the great review and taking a chance with us. Those old reviews were from a previous management team and we, that are here now are ready to "make your day". There is a new sheriff in town and the staff and I are having fun taking care of everyone.
See you soon anytime you need a break from the AZ heat.
Thanks again

HJRobbins- GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights during an eight week holiday. The hotel is in a great location, right across the street from the beach. It is within easy walking distance of the marina and wharf. State Street, the main street of Santa Barbara is within walking distance. There are good restaurants in the near vicinity. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. There is a nice pool on the property. The staff were super friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was good, and the staff continuously cleaned and replenished the food when it was required. The off street car parking was ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at Best Western Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello Ms. Bambam,

Wow, long trip from down under to come see us. I'm thrilled we were able to help you enjoy alot of what Santa Barbara has to offer. Thanks for the kind words.One problem though...
We're still not sure however what vegamite is. Hmmm?

We'll see you the next time around. All the best

HJRobbins - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $137 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing